[Solved] Can you Unsynchronize labels?
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:40 pm
I've been banging my head against a wall for two days trying to do what I thought would be relatively simple. I successfully set up a connection to a database and linked it to a sheet of address labels. I followed various instructions I found to merge the sheet of labels to a new file. But after that I cannot edit anything on any but the first label. If I copy and paste each label one by one into a brand new sheet of labels with synchronize labels off then I can edit each label as I need to do (a few lines that break in funny places or other minor changes like that not possible to do in the database itself).
So, the copying and pasting led me to believe that the problem with trying to edit my merged document is that it is set to synchronize all labels to the first label and therefore I can't edit any other labels but that one. Is there a way to turn off synchronizing after the document is created by the merge? I can't find this on any menu.
If this isn't possible I guess I'll have to copy and past each and every label by hand which seems to defeat the purpose of a mail merge. This was very easy in M$ Word but for the life of me I can not figure it out in Writer after days of searching online, poking through menus and help and experimenting. Help?
So, the copying and pasting led me to believe that the problem with trying to edit my merged document is that it is set to synchronize all labels to the first label and therefore I can't edit any other labels but that one. Is there a way to turn off synchronizing after the document is created by the merge? I can't find this on any menu.
If this isn't possible I guess I'll have to copy and past each and every label by hand which seems to defeat the purpose of a mail merge. This was very easy in M$ Word but for the life of me I can not figure it out in Writer after days of searching online, poking through menus and help and experimenting. Help?