Hi,
I've just downloaded Open Office onto my mac and I'm wanting to know if you can make documents in Writer full screen in the same way as you can in Microsoft Office i.e. by clicking the blue arrows at the top right-hand corner of the screen (which makes it into a new desktop screen). I can make the document full screen no problem but it stays sitting on my desktop rather than becoming its own screen which I can then flick between with other documents (so I can't have multiple documents open at one time).
Apologies for my lack of technical vocab - hope that makes sense! Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
[Solved] Full screen view
[Solved] Full screen view
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Sun Dec 27, 2020 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
Apache OpenOffice 3.4.0, Mac OS X Lion
- MrProgrammer
- Moderator
- Posts: 5472
- Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
- Location: Wisconsin, USA
Re: Full screen view
Hi, and welcome to the forum.
Because I find it inconvenient to have the menus hidden, I seldom use full screen mode. Instead, I simply resize the window so that it takes up the entire screen. Then I have the last two window switching methods available. Note, in the picture, that the Impress (presentation) document will occupy almost the entire screen when it's active. I keep the dock visible too, but on the right side of the screen since there is more screen available left-to-right than there is top-to-bottom. However you can even hide the dock without full screen mode. Either use ⌘⇑D or > System Preferences > Dock > Automatically hide and show the dock or Control Click the dock separator and use Turn Hiding On.If this answered your question please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.
Writer is a different product than MicroSnot Office, so the procedures used for tasks are different. You enter full screen mode using View > Full Screen or ⌘⇑J. Exit full screen mode by clicking on the Full Screen toolbar button or using ⌘⇑J again.piproddis wrote:I'm wanting to know if you can make documents in Writer full screen in the same way as you can in Microsoft Office i.e. by clicking the blue arrows at the top right-hand corner of the screen (which makes it into a new desktop screen).
Of course you can have multiple documents open, however there is only one copy of OpenOffice running and so you'll only see OpenOffice once if you switch applications with ⌘Tab. I'm guessing that is what you mean by "flick". Actually you can have multiple text documents, multiple spreadsheets, multiple presentations, multiple databases, etc. all open at the same time. Just use File > New > {DocType} as many times as desired. See example below. If you're not in full screen mode, you switch among the windows by either:piproddis wrote:I can make the document full screen no problem but it stays sitting on my desktop rather than becoming its own screen which I can then flick between with other documents (so I can't have multiple documents open at one time).
- Clicking on the window, as long as the window isn't completely covered by other OpenOffice windows, or
- Using ⌘`, the same keyboard shortcut that you would use to switch between documents in other Mac applications, or
- Using the Window menu, the same menu that you would use to switch between documents in other Mac applications.
Because I find it inconvenient to have the menus hidden, I seldom use full screen mode. Instead, I simply resize the window so that it takes up the entire screen. Then I have the last two window switching methods available. Note, in the picture, that the Impress (presentation) document will occupy almost the entire screen when it's active. I keep the dock visible too, but on the right side of the screen since there is more screen available left-to-right than there is top-to-bottom. However you can even hide the dock without full screen mode. Either use ⌘⇑D or > System Preferences > Dock > Automatically hide and show the dock or Control Click the dock separator and use Turn Hiding On.If this answered your question please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800, MacOS 13.7.8, iMac Intel. The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800, MacOS 13.7.8, iMac Intel. The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
Re: Full screen view
That is a Mac key - if you are using Windows, using the Window menu option in OpenOffice will allow you to change between your open documents.
Slackware 15 (current) 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice.1.16
LibreOffice 26.8.0.3; SlackBuild for 26.8.0 by Eric Hameleers
-----------
I hate this damn computer, I wish that I could sell it.
It won't do what I want it to, Only what I tell it.
Apache OpenOffice.1.16
LibreOffice 26.8.0.3; SlackBuild for 26.8.0 by Eric Hameleers
-----------
I hate this damn computer, I wish that I could sell it.
It won't do what I want it to, Only what I tell it.