[Solved] Basic pie chart creation

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Post Reply
leatherneckpa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:23 pm

[Solved] Basic pie chart creation

Post by leatherneckpa »

OS: Windows Vista
OO version: 3.3

I have just completed my student teaching. One of my remaining tasks is to create graphic aid to demonstrate the level of learning achieved by my students. I would like to do that with a pair of "Before and After" pie charts comparing pre-unit and post-unit grades. I know how to create the basic spreadsheet, but when I try to "Insert Chart" I get a pie with 25 little wedges. What I would ultimately like is for the slices to approximate the percentage of students who fall into each category. That "Exploded Donut" style looks interesting also. This is the spreadsheet I am working from:
Image
Last edited by leatherneckpa on Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Basic pie chart creation

Post by MrProgrammer »

I would use Data > DataPilot first. Drag Pre-test to Row Fields, then drag it again from the right to Data Fields and use Options > Count. Repeat to create a second DataPilot for Post-Test. Plot the results.

In the future consider that it is far easier for the volunteers here to help if you attach your data instead of providing a picture because anyone who wants to run some tests first has to retype your data from the picture. I didn't do that since it's too much work.

If this answered your question please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800, MacOS 13.7.8, iMac Intel.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
leatherneckpa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Basic pie chart creation

Post by leatherneckpa »

MrProgrammer wrote:I would use Data > DataPilot first. Drag Pre-test to Row Fields, then drag it again from the right to Data Fields and use Options > Count. Repeat to create a second DataPilot for Post-Test. Plot the results.
Okay, I'll give that a try.
MrProgrammer wrote:In the future consider that it is far easier for the volunteers here to help if you attach your data instead of providing a picture because anyone who wants to run some tests first has to retype your data from the picture. I didn't do that since it's too much work.
Sorry. I'm afraid I don't know how to do that either.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista
leatherneckpa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: Basic pie chart creation

Post by leatherneckpa »

I sort of stumbled into my own answer. Perhaps some of the superbly talented individuals on this forum can do what I wanted to do with my original data but I couldn't. For the non-talented shmucks, like me, all I did was do another spreadsheet with the grades all grouped and counted by me instead of the program. Then with only four rows and three columns I was able to create the donut chart I wanted. I suppose computers are not a complete replacement for human work, yet.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista
Post Reply