Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > FAIL

Discuss the presentation application

Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > FAIL

Postby morphingstar » Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:53 am

Textframe: create and insert text
Format > Menu, select
Text > select
animation > scroll through >
add sufficient text to need wider frame than the slide width.
(more or bigger characters, there is no need to scroll text which is shorter than the frame holding it )
On the edit page it will scroll nicely.

When choosing SLIDE SHOW menu & Slide Show F5 the display fails:
FAIL: The frame holding the scrolling text displays a black rectangle, and one more, and more, moving in the text area.
After some time the desired text shows up. Black rectangles again.

Opening the same file in LibreOffice offers the same bad behavior.
As far as I remember this function worked nicely in StarOffice 7.
The function is at least 10 years old and is expected to work.

Can this scrolling text be made usable? How?
OO 4.1.6 on Win10. Member since StarOffice 7. Alternative name "morphingstar2" when other fails. Use Writer, Calc (as DB + Calc), Draw. Impress mainly for Eyedropper and animating GIFs. Updated 20190716.
User avatar
morphingstar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:52 am
Location: Mx

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:30 am

It works for me when I applied my custom style to a TEXTBOX.

Scroll through.odp
(29.91 KiB) Downloaded 4 times


Always use the native, international standard ODF file formats.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.5; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8145
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:40 am

FAIL: The frame holding the scrolling text displays a black rectangle, and one more, and more, moving in the text area.

Check the OpenCL settings in the AOO/LO, and modify it if it is necessary. Switch it OFF if your videocard not fully support the OpenCL
Chack and update the video card driver.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.5; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8145
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby morphingstar » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:32 am

your Scroll through.odp
works perfect in editor and show
So it is something in the design which I am unaware of
Your picture shows lots of click.fields, organizer to highlighter. My TEXT menu does not show these. How to change?
OO version: 4.1.6.


OpenCL settings
unknown to me
where? what?
video card driver for 10 years hp probook computer might not be available.
I guess video is integrated in MB.
tks
OO 4.1.6 on Win10. Member since StarOffice 7. Alternative name "morphingstar2" when other fails. Use Writer, Calc (as DB + Calc), Draw. Impress mainly for Eyedropper and animating GIFs. Updated 20190716.
User avatar
morphingstar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:52 am
Location: Mx

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby Zizi64 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:42 am

your Scroll through.odp
works perfect in editor and show

My sample was created with the LibreOffie 6.1.6. but not with Apache OpenOffice.
As I remember it, this feature worked fine in my older AOO, Go-OO, OOo versions. Now I am using the LO.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.5; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8145
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby morphingstar » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:57 pm

Thanks, I copied your sample file, then was able to edit it. I did various tests, results implicit written below.

Scrolling text in OO Impress (Text-frame Format - Text - Animation)
Observed black rectangles moving in text area while SHOW is on.
It works well in editor while rectangular text (editor) frame width does not exceed slide width, text is multi-line.
The frame must be de-focused to take desired shape. When showing all text it might be multi-line. In my case it is.

Bad behavior while in SHOW. (black rectangles, long time empty).
Reasons:
1) Too many characters in text.
2) Text size (points) too large.

TRY: Extend the frame to the editor width, hence wider than slide. Limit number of characters to 1 line.
In SHOW this frame looks good, but the time while it is empty is very long.

It is not possible to make the start of the text visible while the end of the text is still seen.

In view of all these complications and uncertainty whether the slide will work on a different computer and screen size I discard this OO solution.
I hope to create a animated *.GIF instead. There the size limit bogs me, though there may be generators around which can handle more than 500 px.
_______
Goal:
I want to create slides with images and text. As the text between the images has not much space, is small I wanted to run the same text scrolling at the slide's top large and easy to read for more distant audience. I found 2 ways to scroll text.
a) All in one line, first English, then Spanish. (while editing the focused frame always shows multi-line.)
b) 2 lines, with a line break (enter key) at the language change.
Both cases only work well in edit mode.
In SHOW the first version a) takes a very long time between 2 runs. The 2nd version b) shows 2 lines as intended. Long time too.
Both versions are insulted with black moving rectangles.
_ * _
OO 4.1.6 on Win10. Member since StarOffice 7. Alternative name "morphingstar2" when other fails. Use Writer, Calc (as DB + Calc), Draw. Impress mainly for Eyedropper and animating GIFs. Updated 20190716.
User avatar
morphingstar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:52 am
Location: Mx

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby morphingstar » Fri Aug 02, 2019 6:58 pm

Alternative solution using GIF
https://www199.lunapic.com/editor/
OO 4.1.6 on Win10. Member since StarOffice 7. Alternative name "morphingstar2" when other fails. Use Writer, Calc (as DB + Calc), Draw. Impress mainly for Eyedropper and animating GIFs. Updated 20190716.
User avatar
morphingstar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:52 am
Location: Mx

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:46 am

I copied your sample file, then was able to edit it.

Always download the attachments before, and then you can edit them. The directly opened mail attacments and web contents will open as "read only" files from a temporaty place.


Observed black rectangles moving in text area while SHOW is on.

Check the video card driver, and check the OpenCL feature of your AOO/LO, Switch off if your videocard is not fully OpenCL compatible.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.5; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8145
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Textframe Format > Text > animation > scroll through > F

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:54 am

I copied your sample file, then was able to edit it.

Always download the attachments before, and then you can edit them. The directly opened mail attacments and web contents will open as "read only" files from a temporaty place.


Observed black rectangles moving in text area while SHOW is on.

Check the video card driver, and check the OpenGL feature of your AOO/LO.
Yes, it is "OpenGL" but not "OpenCL". Both feature exists, but they are different things.
Switch off it if your videocard is not fully OpenGL compatible.

Try the LibreOffice. It requests OpenGL by default too, and you can switch OFF the feature in LO too - if your videocard is not compatible with this feature.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.5; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8145
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to Impress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests