Developing a fully-fledged dabase application

Discuss the database features
DonnEdwards

Developing a fully-fledged dabase application

Post by DonnEdwards »

I'm a newbie to oBase, but I have been programming in Access97 for the last 10 years. I'm finding the learning curve a bit steep, so please forgive my ignorance while I RTFM. In the meantime I'd like to ask some general questions:

1. How does one build an opening menu and get it to become the first thing a user encounters on double-clicking a .odb file?

2. How can I generate a whole bunch of test records? I want to create a table and then fill it with, say, a million records, and see how fast it manages to do things. I know how to create a recordset in Access, but still haven't found how to do this in oBase. Any pointers would be most useful.

3. I'd like to create a record edit form with tabbed pages on it, so that the information on a Customer, say, could be divided up into sections, with each section on a different page. Some tables I use have lots of fields with a variety of stuff in them, and at present the only way I can see to do this is to list them one below the other and allow the user to scroll down. Is there a tabbed pages control, or some other method of doing this?

4. How does one link to external libraries, in say Java? I have some Visual Basic libraries I use for encryption, but clearly I can't use those. If I find equivalent stuff written in Java, can I use them in my program?

5. How does one format text in a memo field, and is this advisable?

I look forward to any and all suggestions. Thanks in advance.
Donn Edwards
OOo version 2.3.1 on WinXP
Database developer: Access97, SQL Server, VB6, now learning OOo
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Developing a fully-fledged dabase application

Post by Villeroy »