[Solved] Question about adding to toolbar

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:26 pm

I have a list that I go down and check each one to be valid or not. I use 4 colors to differentiate the differences on this list. Is there a way I can add just those 4 background colors to my tool bar or maybe add a macro to make it faster and easier?
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby RoryOF » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:32 pm

Possibly you could use Conditional formatting to change the background colours? For more than three colours use extension
http://extensions.openoffice.org/en/project/extend-your-conditional-formatting
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28748
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:46 pm

Could you explain please? Not familiar with formatting or extensions.
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby RoryOF » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:52 pm

In OpenOffice /Help /OpenOffice Help: Index tab, enter "Conditional formatting" and separately "extensions" (no quotes on either search).
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28748
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:03 pm

Nothing about adding color
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby RoryOF » Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:51 pm

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.2 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 28748
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:59 pm

If it would, I don't understand it =/ I'm complete noob at this stuff. I just want to add a button or four to the toolbar that I click and it makes the cell(s) a specific color. Lets say I find row 13 to be something I wanna highlight in green. So I click the 13 and instead of going to the paint can and picking a color I would like to be able to just click the "Green" button as a short cut. Same with "Red", "Yellow" and "Grey" If that makes any sense.
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:46 pm

You can create 4 macros to apply the background colors.
Then you can add buttons in the toolbar to launch those macros.
You should find such code snippet in the macro forum.

Or use styles and apply them with the Sidebar and the Styles list.

Please add [Solved] at the beginning of the title in your first post (top of the topic) with the edit button if your issue has been fixed.
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 19.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28458
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:02 pm

I just figured out how to do it and came here to mark it solved when I read you comment but thanks so much for your help. I was starting to lose hope lol anything I can do to for you? like upvote or give a rating?
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm

Re: [Solved] Question about adding to toolbar

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:12 pm

We have no rating or such reward process.
However, I can give you my bank account references, 6-figure transfers (or above) are welcome. :mrgreen:
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 19.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28458
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Solved] Question about adding to toolbar

Postby CyclopsVapor » Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:16 pm

lol i got about 6 cents if that helps
openoffice 3.1
CyclopsVapor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:22 pm


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests