[Solved] Query dates by month

Creating tables and queries
younghammer

[Solved] Query dates by month

Post by younghammer »

I'm fairly new to Base and ran into a wall.

I have a database "Customers" containing over 600 entries, with first names, last names, addresses (#, street, zip), birth dates and sites visited. I want to make a query that will list my customers by month of birth, so I can send them a birthday card. My DOB field is of DATE type and looks like MM/DD/YY.

I tried using the query wizard and I cannot figure out the criteria I should using. Nothing works and I'm stalled.

Please, help, and try to keep it simple for me. I know nothing of mySQL and Basic.

Thank you.
Last edited by younghammer on Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 3.3.0 Windows 7
DACM
Volunteer

Re: Query dates by month

Post by DACM »

younghammer wrote:...I know nothing of mySQL and Basic.
Are you using a MySQL database? Or does Base say "Embedded database" in the status bar at the bottom of your main Base window? Or perhaps something else?

Perhaps see:
https://www.google.com/search?sugexp=ch ... uery+month

Basic (language), on the other hand, is not necessary to solve this issue.
AOO 4.1.x; LO 4.2.x; Windows 7/8 64-bit
Warning: Avoid embedded databases --> Solution: Adopt a portable 'split database' folder
Soli Deo gloria
younghammer

Post by younghammer »

It says Embedded Database.
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

Select all columns (*) plus a calculated month column:

Code: Select all

SELECT *, MONTH("Birth Date") AS "Month" 
FROM "Your Table" 
ORDER BY "Month"
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
Sliderule
Volunteer

Post by Sliderule »