[Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Writer

Discuss the word processor

[Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Writer

Postby bjarnen » Tue May 15, 2012 9:22 am

Hi,

For me this is a very big issue

The problem appeared after installing OpenOffice 3.4:
When i copy any type of chart from Calc to Writer and paste it as a GDI Metafile or Star Object Descriptor (XML) i get the chart without any datapoints (chart has no graph) This was not a problem in OpenOffice 3.3. :?

Hope there is some quick fix, because in my job i constantly need to copy graphs into engineering reports.

Thanks in advance
bjarnen
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue May 15, 2012 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged the thread as Issue (link to a bug report).
OpenOffice 3.4 on Windows 7
bjarnen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Writer (AOO 3.4)

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue May 15, 2012 10:50 am

Hi and welcome to the forum!

You're right, I see the same on Vista! Can't believe this bug has been through the QA tests!
You should file it: [Tutorial] Reporting bugs or suggestions.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25106
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Writer (AOO 3.4)

Postby bjarnen » Tue May 15, 2012 10:59 am

I submitted it. Bug 119354.
OpenOffice 3.4 on Windows 7
bjarnen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:13 am

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby acknak » Tue May 15, 2012 2:11 pm

Same on Linux: the chart's data table is empty.
AOO 4 • Linux • Fedora 17
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 17422
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby jrkrideau » Tue May 15, 2012 2:43 pm

A quick check with LibreOffice 3.5.3.2 on Ubuntu 12.04 shows that things seem okay so an emergency work around might be to switch to L/O

How did that get through???
AOO 4.0.1, Ubuntu 13.04
jrkrideau
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby LesPatrick » Tue May 15, 2012 3:49 pm

I am having similar problems with V3.4. I create charts in Calc, then when I copy/paste, even within the same page, the paste is not getting the correct units on the axis. It seems to be defaulting to the type "date". I also cannot paste into any other app, including Draw, Presentation, and writer and get the same chart that I copied. This was not a problem in V3.3.
OpenOffice 3.4 on Windows 7
LesPatrick
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue May 15, 2012 5:13 pm

You should add a comment in the initial bug report: https://issues.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=118840
Add a comment, perhaps the devs will ask for another bug report. But I think that the whole process of pasting the chart has to be checked.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25106
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby Charlie Young » Tue May 15, 2012 5:54 pm

This is a very awkward workaround, but I find that I can copy and paste special the separate chart components, e.g. the wall, the diagram, and the legend, and it works, though one has to realign the parts in the destination.

I have also sometimes had the whole chart go successfully, but I don't know why this doesn't work consistently.
Apache OpenOffice 4.0.1
Windows XP
User avatar
Charlie Young
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 1:07 am

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby r4zoli » Tue May 15, 2012 9:48 pm

I was the initial bug reporter, now I tested in AOO 3.4 all OS with32 bit version, under win7, Xubuntu 12.04 from PPA, and opensuse 12.1 with KDE, no such problems, no crash, all data in data table. I tested with Hungarian version. What is your language version which cause crash?

May be it is only a 64 bit linux problem? I can not test in 64bit versions.
AOO 4.0 and LibO 4 on Win 8
Hungarian forum co-admin
User avatar
r4zoli
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2882
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue May 15, 2012 10:13 pm

Checked on Ubuntu 12.04 and AOO 3.4 from website and no data point.
Edit: my Ubuntu system is 64bit.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25106
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby FJCC » Tue May 15, 2012 10:29 pm

I checked on XP and got no data points, so it isn't a 64 bit problem.
AOO 3.4 or 4.0 on MS Windows XP ( before 2013-08-03) or Windows 7
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
FJCC
Moderator
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby origenbio » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:48 pm

I ran into the same problem - copying a chart from Calc and pasting into Impress left an empty box. Problem was the default seems to to select everthing. Try this:

1. In Open Office Spreadsheet, double click on the chart you wish to paste.
2. You will see a white drop down box in the toolbar. Select the 'Chart" dropdown (this selects all chart objects)
3. Right click on Chart and select 'Copy'
4, Go toImpress, find the right slide, and Ctrl-V or select Paste.
Open Office 3.4 on Windows 7
origenbio
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby schlarper » Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:15 pm

Is there a way to get all components of a chart from Calc copied and pasted into Writer?

I have followed Origenbio's advice however,instead of everything getting copied, the titles, labels and legends do not get selected initially when selecting "chart" in the format selection dropdown menu and so they are not pasted into writer.

The chart itself copies accross nicely, which is a vast improvement on the blank square I had before.

I am using Libre Office at this point in time, does this make a difference?

Thank you for your time.
"We're not conformists...but we are all individuals together."

Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Libre Office v3.6.2.2
schlarper
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby schlarper » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:14 am

Scratch the above, my problem is solved by I renaming 'sheet1' in Calc to anything else. I got this from:
viewtopic.php?t=59980&p=266312
"We're not conformists...but we are all individuals together."

Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Libre Office v3.6.2.2
schlarper
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: [Issue] AOO3.4: Chart empty when copying from Calc to Wr

Postby wattlecottage » Fri Mar 22, 2013 2:06 am

I can confirm that renaming the worksheet does the trick, but then had a problem with the x axis scale converting numbers to dates. If you turn off 'source format' under Numbers in the Format Axis box and format the axis in there it will get around the problem.
OpenOffice 3.4 on Windows 7
wattlecottage
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:59 am


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 35 guests