Opening Screen

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua
chrishowell

Opening Screen

Post by chrishowell »

I'm new to Open Office, though my first impressions are very positive. This is not a major issue, but I wonder if there is a way to change the way that OO opens up. It opens as a very large screen, with a lot of gray, unused area, and with the options for new document, open existing document, etc. I find myself re-sizing the window every time I open the program. I tried re-sizing and then saving that as a template, then making that the default template, but that did not change how the program opens.

Is it possible to get it to open by default:

1) in a smaller screen (a single page with a narrow border of gray) so I don't need to re-size?
2) without the list of options, so that it by default opens as a new blank document?

Thanks,
Chris
OpenOffice 3.2.1 on MacOS X
therabi
Volunteer

Re: Opening Screen

Post by therabi »

chrishowell wrote:I'm new to Open Office, though my first impressions are very positive. This is not a major issue, but I wonder if there is a way to change the way that OO opens up. It opens as a very large screen, with a lot of gray, unused area, and with the options for new document, open existing document, etc. I find myself re-sizing the window every time I open the program. I tried re-sizing and then saving that as a template, then making that the default template, but that did not change how the program opens.

Is it possible to get it to open by default:

1) in a smaller screen (a single page with a narrow border of gray) so I don't need to re-size?
2) without the list of options, so that it by default opens as a new blank document?

Thanks,
Chris
Your using the Quick starter and that is the way it is designed an not changeable. Create a short cut on you desktop for the program you wish to use, Writer, Calc, Base, Draw and use that instead. How you make the short cut depends on the operating system.

HTH