[Dropped] LibreOffice full justification is broken

Help with installation and general system troubleshooting questions concerning the office suite LibreOffice.
gremlinkurst
Banned

[Dropped] LibreOffice full justification is broken

Post by gremlinkurst »

These guys evidently don't know what the entire purpose of full justification is. I opened an OpenOffice ODT document and cringed when I saw that the closed parentheses of one sentence was occupying a line all by itself at the end of a paragraph, like this:

...and then the man said, "Sorry, buddy—all sales are final.
"

What the frick? I tried to figure out how to fix it, but consarn me if I can't. LibreOffice works great with spreadsheets, but they don't know anything about formatting enriched text documents. I couldn't even figure out how to change the justification parameters; it doesn't seem very intuitive, and I've been using programs like this for nearly forty years.
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Sat Mar 02, 2024 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Dropped: No attachment provided when requested -- MrProgrammer, forum moderator
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.14 is installed on the latest up-to-date version of Microsoft's Windows 11
robleyd

Re: LibreOffice's Full Justification is Broken

Post by robleyd »

Perhaps you could upload a sample file that demonstrates the issue so someone can try and offer a solution.

Also, can you tell the version of LibreOffice that you are using?
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.2.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.2 by Eric Hameleers
Hagar Delest

Post by Hagar Delest »

gremlinkurst wrote: Thu Feb 22, 2024 3:18 am I couldn't even figure out how to change the justification parameters; it doesn't seem very intuitive, and I've been using programs like this for nearly forty years.
Can you give more details about that? Between MS Word (top) and Writer (bottom), there is hardly a difference:
Alignemnt.png
Alignemnt.png (4.45 KiB) Viewed 2308 times