[Solved] Dots on screen are non-printable characters

Discuss the word processor
Post Reply
BubikolRamios
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:28 pm

[Solved] Dots on screen are non-printable characters

Post by BubikolRamios »

https://file.si/LgLL/tmp.jpg
dots.jpg
dots.jpg (8.33 KiB) Viewed 1984 times
These dots are actually not dots, they are non printable characters, if I copy that to some hex editor they turn out to be 0D0A.
i.e. 6dots = 0D0A 0D0A 0D0A
Any way to convert that to actual dots ?
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Mon Jul 31, 2023 5:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved] -- MrProgrammer, forum moderator
OPen office 4.1.5/ win 7
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
Posts: 5136
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: 0D0A, non printable cahracters

Post by robleyd »

Perhaps you could upload the actual file so we can see what is in it rather than an image that only shows what you see, rather than what causes what you see.
Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.4.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.4 by Eric Hameleers
---------------------
Roses are Red, Violets are Blue
Unexpected '{' on line 32
.
JeJe
Volunteer
Posts: 2844
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable cahracters

Post by JeJe »

Some information here where the suggestion is to use a hex editor to do the replace:

http://www.maxi-pedia.com/line+terminat ... eturn+0d0a

http://www.maxi-pedia.com/carriage+retu ... d+problems
Windows 10, Openoffice 4.1.11, LibreOffice 7.4.0.3 (x64)
JeJe
Volunteer
Posts: 2844
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable cahracters

Post by JeJe »

Or you could try this macro on a copy of your document and see if it works.

Code: Select all


Sub Replace0D0A

 Dim vDescriptor
 vDescriptor = ThisComponent.createReplaceDescriptor()
 With vDescriptor 
 .SearchString =  chr(10) & chr(13)
 .ReplaceString = "."
 End With
 thisComponent.ReplaceAll(VDescriptor)

End Sub
Windows 10, Openoffice 4.1.11, LibreOffice 7.4.0.3 (x64)
BubikolRamios
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable cahracters

Post by BubikolRamios »

robleyd wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 2:28 pm Perhaps you could upload the actual file so we can see what is in it rather than an image that only shows what you see, rather than what causes what you see.
Sorry, my bad.
Attachments
Untitled 2.odt
(9.63 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
Last edited by BubikolRamios on Sat Jul 22, 2023 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OPen office 4.1.5/ win 7
BubikolRamios
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable cahracters

Post by BubikolRamios »

JeJe wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 3:14 pm Or you could try this macro on a copy of your document and see if it works.

Code: Select all


Sub Replace0D0A

 Dim vDescriptor
 vDescriptor = ThisComponent.createReplaceDescriptor()
 With vDescriptor 
 .SearchString =  chr(10) & chr(13)
 .ReplaceString = "."
 End With
 thisComponent.ReplaceAll(VDescriptor)

End Sub
Seems does nothing on sample file posted one post before.
OPen office 4.1.5/ win 7
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
Posts: 32716
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by Hagar Delest »

Can you say why you need to get those dots?
You could use your hex editor to get the number of dots and to copy paste them in the destination file and Find & Replace.
LibreOffice 24.2 on Xubuntu 24.04 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
BubikolRamios
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by BubikolRamios »

See secod line , "mehrj.", first dot after j actually means abbreviation, not spacing for text readability. Translating some specific text to readable local lang ....
OPen office 4.1.5/ win 7
JeJe
Volunteer
Posts: 2844
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by JeJe »

The dots between the j and 2 are a single tab character - to remove, change format menu/paragraph/tabs to Fill character - none for each tab.

Edit:

fill character to none and manually type some ......... if that's what you want.

(If you set the Fill character to a dot - then same thing, its still a tab.)
Last edited by JeJe on Sat Jul 22, 2023 6:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Windows 10, Openoffice 4.1.11, LibreOffice 7.4.0.3 (x64)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
Posts: 32716
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by Hagar Delest »

BubikolRamios wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 4:38 pm See secod line , "mehrj.", first dot after j actually means abbreviation, not spacing for text readability.
Then it means that the dot isn't there. I tried to add a dot and then copy-paste and id does paste. Meaning that the dot is lacking in the first place.
LibreOffice 24.2 on Xubuntu 24.04 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
Posts: 5136
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by robleyd »

The 'dots' are part of a style applied to those paragraphs, as you can see by changing the style to e.g. Text Body.

Are these samples that you show actually part of a table of contents?
Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.4.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.4 by Eric Hameleers
---------------------
Roses are Red, Violets are Blue
Unexpected '{' on line 32
.
Bill
Volunteer
Posts: 8941
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by Bill »

BubikolRamios wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 4:38 pm See secod line , "mehrj.", first dot after j actually means abbreviation...
The first dot does not mean abbreviation if the dot is a fill character. The dot must be a text character. Writer won't highlight fill character dots when searching for text dots.

You can use Find & Replace to insert a text dot after alphabetic characters which are followed by a tab.

Turn on the Regular Expressions option in Find & Replace.

Search: ([:alpha:])\t

Replace: $0.\t
AOO 4.1.14 on Ubuntu MATE 22.04
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Moderator
Posts: 4956
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: 0D0A, non printable characters

Post by MrProgrammer »

Thank you for the attachment.
BubikolRamios wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 2:19 pm if I copy that to some hex editor they turn out to be 0D0A.
That unspecified analysis with the editor which was used must be flawed. The document content shows that the portions which are displayed as dots are single Tab characters, not Carriage Return (U+000D) and Line Feed (U+000A). There is no period after the mehrj characters. Take a look. This shows how your document is stored in Untitled 2.odt. The techique is called XML and any unprintable characters are converted to a printable format in XML, for example <text:tab/>. If something looks like a space, then it definitely is a space.
202307241111.gif
202307241111.gif (99.7 KiB) Viewed 1341 times

The tabs display as periods because you've chosen that in the paragraph settings. If you don't want to see the periods, don't use that setting in the dialog.
202307241121.gif
202307241121.gif (68.67 KiB) Viewed 1341 times

BubikolRamios wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 4:17 pm
.SearchString =  chr(10) & chr(13)
.ReplaceString = "."
Seems does nothing on sample file posted one post before.
That replacement won't change anything since the document doesn't contain the characters you're searching for. If it did contain Carriage Return followed by Line Feed you would have to specify CHR(13) & CHR(10). But it doesn't; it has a Tab character.

BubikolRamios wrote: Sat Jul 22, 2023 2:19 pm Any way to convert that to actual dots ?
There is no easy way to insert the correct number of text character periods into the lines so that the right margin is as specified. The correct number would depend on the other characters in the line, their font, their font size and other attributes, and distance between the left and right margins, intentation, numbering, etc. That's why Writer provides the Tab Fill character setting in the dialog so that the document looks and prints as if the correct number of periods were present.


If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the Subject field. Select the green checkmark icon at the same time.
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.7 Build 9800, MacOS 13.6.3, iMac Intel.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
Post Reply