OpenOffice for High Schools

Discuss your migration story or project
pkonecny

OpenOffice for High Schools

Post by pkonecny »

Hello Everyone,
I work in a School District and want to use open office on all my computers. I can't see paying Microsoft all this money every year. Our Technology department says this: "What license are you going to use for open office? You still need an activation key. Even for open office it requires a key/license". Is this true and if so, where can we get an activation key?

Thank you,

Paul Konecny
Open office 4.1.1 on Windows 11
FJCC

Re: Open Office for High Schools

Post by FJCC »

OpenOffice is under the Apache Software License version 2. It can be downloaded for no cost and there is no activation key. You should download it from www.openoffice.org. That process will redirect you to SourceForge where the download is automatic and you shouldn't need to do anything but wait. Once you have the installation file, you can make as many copies as you want.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
LastUnicorn

Post by LastUnicorn »

No, you don't need an activation key for OpenOffice. You can throughout your School District use OpenOffice quite freely, no charge at all. However, you should be aware that OpenOffice is pretty much a dead project now and it would be much smarter for your School District to use LibreOffice instead of OpenOffice. There are several good reasons for preferring LibreOffice over OpenOffice, some of those reasons are given here: [Tutorial] Considering a Switch from OpenOffice to LibreOffice? Some Useful Information

For LibreOffice the same situation exists over licences and you are completely free to use LibreOffice anywhere you like without charge. Likewise activation keys are not supplied because they just are not needed.
Windows 10 Pro. x64