Suddenly I cannot open OpenOffice icon on desktop

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
onenicelady

Suddenly I cannot open OpenOffice icon on desktop

Post by onenicelady »

I love using open office and have used it for years. This is my first experience with it not working at all. So I go to google and ask why does open office not open? I dont get a straight answer. then I try to uninstall, that is not going to happen because it shows a window stating that open office is open when its not open and to close it. How do I close it. I read some answers which make no sense to me. I am not a programmer, I am only someone who uses the internet and writes letters using open office. So I read you could download this software to remove open office and I found the free version on google and downloaded it and opened and highlighted and cliked uninstall, it found files which I checked and deleted. and guess what it looked like it was uninstalled but it is not uninstalled. So I will try one more thing, shuting down my computer and then restarting to see if that works if not.
you need to speak in plain english how I can get open office to work or close or uninstall. I go to control panel to uninstall programs have never had
a problem like this. :(
open office 4.1.11 microsoft windows 11
Hagar Delest

Re: suddenly I cannot open open office icon on desktop

Post by Hagar Delest »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

If you really want to work with OpenOffice, then reset your OpenOffice user profile.
Else, you should install LibreOffice instead. It is under much more active development and it better integrates with Windows.

What you see on your desktop may be the installation files that remained.

Please add [Solved] at the beginning of the title in your first post (top of the topic) with the 🖉 button if your issue has been fixed.
LibreOffice 7.6.2.1 on Xubuntu 23.10 and 7.6.4.1 portable on Windows 10
onenicelady

Re: Suddenly I cannot open OpenOffice icon on desktop