UseVariablesInSQL in access2base

Discuss the database features
geom

UseVariablesInSQL in access2base

Post by geom »

I'm new to OpenOffice Base and find the extension access2base very usefull since I was programming Access DB a while ago.
I'm trying now to implement the UseVariablesInSQL as described in the http://www.access2base.com/access2base. ... lesInSQL]].

Code: Select all

Sub updateArt_click(e as Object)
    Dim rs As Object
    Dim frm As Object
    Dim sName As String  'search Parameter
    Set frm = Application.Forms("frm_Etiketten_drucken")
    sName = frm.Controls("cmbSorte").Value
    MsgBox sName   'shows the selected value from cmbSorte

Set rs = Application.CurrentDb().RunSQL("SELECT art FROM artikel WHERE sorte_de = " & sName )
    MsgBox rs  'Returns Error#1523 

'further code will follow, when the RunSQL-code works
End Sub
as marked in the code, the RunSQL code gives an Error:

Error #1523 (SQL Error, SQL statement = 'SELECT art FROM artikel WHERE sorte_de = Bittenfelder') aufgetreten in ein Funktionsaufruf 'Database.RunSQL'
As far as I understand is this the cause of the missing quotes around the string 'Bittenfelder'?
In the original description on access2base the following code is used to add quotes :

Sub updateArt_click(e as Object)
    Dim rs As Object
    Dim frm As Object 
    Dim sName As String  'search Parameter
    Const cstQuote = "'"		'	Single quote
    Set frm = Application.Forms("frm_Etiketten_drucken")
    sName = Join(Split(frm.Controls("cmbSorte").Value, cstQuote), cstQuote & cstQuote)   'Replace single ' by ' '
    MsgBox sName  'shows the selected value from cmbSorte
    Set rs = Application.CurrentDb().RunSQL("SELECT art FROM artikel WHERE sorte_de = " & cstQuote & sName & cstQuote)
    MsgBox rs

'further code will follow, when the RunSQL-code works
End Sub
In this case I get the following error: No access to object. Incorrect use of object.