[Solved] Search & Replace - Tabs

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Search & Replace - Tabs

Postby quiddam » Fri May 22, 2020 11:44 am

 Edit: Split from [Solved] Search & Replace - Tabs and Paragraph marks — MrProgrammer 2020-05-22 15:22 UTC 
I do have the regex box checked but when I try to replace a paragraph mark with a tab using \t, all I get is \t
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun May 31, 2020 2:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged solved
Open Office 4.17 on windows 10
quiddam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:23 am

Re: [Solved] Search & Replace - Tabs and Paragraph marks

Postby JeJe » Fri May 22, 2020 12:16 pm

copy and paste a tab character from the document into the replace box
Openoffice 4.1.2
Windows 8
JeJe
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: [Solved] Search & Replace - Tabs and Paragraph marks

Postby RoryOF » Fri May 22, 2020 12:37 pm

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31109
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Search & Replace - Tabs

Postby quiddam » Sat May 23, 2020 6:48 am

Thanks for the responses. I believe I did try pasting it in an as a tab character and no dice. I did a solution with Microsoft Office. After I do the Search & Replace, I do a copy and then paste it in an Excel Spreadsheet, save it out and then I can import it into a database. The curious thing about this project is that the Search & Replace is manual since I am converting every other hard return to a tab. The database is for Ancient Greek. I like OpenOffice and will continue to use it--I just could not find a solution in the time frame I had.
Open Office 4.17 on windows 10
quiddam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:23 am

Re: Search & Replace - Tabs

Postby Zizi64 » Sat May 23, 2020 8:36 am

I do have the regex box checked but when I try to replace a paragraph mark with a tab using \t, all I get is \t


The built-in Searc&Replace feature will not replace the paragraph marks to any character, because it is a dangerous operation.
There is a limit for the character number in a single paragraph which should never be exceeded. If you replace the Paragraph marks, the number of the characters will be increased in the first paragraph.

You can replace the line feed characters (the Shift Enter-s) only.

Otherwise the extension - linked above - can do it.
It is works with the AOO and with LO too.
https://extensions.libreoffice.org/exte ... for-writer

AltSearch.png
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.3;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9316
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests