[Solved] Gap for SI numbers (thousands separator)

Discuss the formula editor

[Solved] Gap for SI numbers (thousands separator)

Postby Dr. Barber » Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:28 am

Hi all.
When writing numbers in the SI system the digits of numerical values having more than four digits on either side of the decimal marker are separated into groups of three using a thin, fixed space counting from both the left and right of the decimal marker. Commas are not used to separate digits into groups of three. For example:15 739.012 53

I find that the gap provided by grave (') is too wide for this. Is there a way to make the gap smaller than that provided by grave?

Thanks
Last edited by Dr. Barber on Tue Jan 21, 2020 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.7 on macOS Catalina
Dr. Barber
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:19 am

Re: gap for SI numbers

Postby FJCC » Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:53 am

You can go to the menu Format -> Spacing, set the Category to Spacing and shrink the spacing setting. I think that decreases all spacing but it might get you what you want.
Windows 10 and Linux Mint, since 2017
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
FJCC
Moderator
 
Posts: 7831
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: gap for SI numbers

Postby Zizi64 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:57 am

Please upload your sample Math file here.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9645
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Gap for SI numbers (thousands separator)

Postby keme » Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:26 am

Have you tried to use just a plain space character?

Enclose the number in curly braces to make it count as one element. The space counts as a token separator.
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
{123 456 789}
gives tighter spacing on my system than the "small space"
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
123`456`789
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: Gap for SI numbers (thousands separator)

Postby Dr. Barber » Tue Jan 21, 2020 7:45 pm

keme wrote:Have you tried to use just a plain space character?

Enclose the number in curly braces to make it count as one element. The space counts as a token separator.
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
{123 456 789}
gives tighter spacing on my system than the "small space"
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
123`456`789



Thanks!
I had not tried that. This works well!
OpenOffice 4.1.7 on macOS Catalina
Dr. Barber
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:19 am


Return to Math

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest