[Solved] Colour table problem

Discuss the presentation application

[Solved] Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:33 am

I am relatively new to this forum and I am not sure how to post a new issue (I have been looking for the last 30 minutes). I found this for beginners saying start here. So here is my dumb question.

I was trying add a new color to my color table and fat-fingered it and deleted an existing color. Now my color table is all messed up.

How can I restore my previous color table or just get back to the default.

I almost forgot. I am using windows 10 with AOO 4.1.5. I am using Impress.

Many thanks,
Ray
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Colour table problem

Postby robleyd » Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:49 am

Which application contains the colour tables you are referring to - Writer, Calc, Draw etc.?

To start a new topic, simply go to the New Topic button at the top of each forum's list of topics.
Attachments
oonewtopic.png
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.0.7.3 - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:57 am

I am using Impress with AOO 4.1.5 with Windows 10.
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Colour table problem

Postby Zizi64 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 7:00 am

Try to reset (delete or rename) the user profile of your AOO suite.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.3.2; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8470
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 4:36 pm

I know I am doing something stupid, but I cannot find the user profile in Windows 10.

Using file explorer, I went to following directory
C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenOffice 4\share
And did a search, but could not find the profile. I clicked show hidden files (I added a snip as attachment to show this), but I am not sure if somehow it ignored it or something.

So I used Cygwin and did the the following, but still could not find it.

rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /c/Program Files (x86)/OpenOffice 4/share
$ ls -l
total 64
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 autocorr
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 autotext
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 basic
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 config
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 dtd
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 extensions
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 fingerprint
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 gallery
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 prereg
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 readme
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 registry
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 samples
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 Scripts
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 template
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 uno_packages
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 wordbook
drwxrwx---+ 1 SYSTEM SYSTEM 0 Mar 2 22:26 xslt

rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /c/Program Files (x86)/OpenOffice 4/share
$ find . -name user

rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /c/Program Files (x86)/OpenOffice 4/share
$ ls -R * | grep -i user
UserfieldDlg.xdl
Userfields.xba
Computer-User-Female1.png
Computer-User-Female2.png
Computer-User-Male1.png
Computer-User-Male2.png

rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /c/Program Files (x86)/OpenOffice 4/share

What am I missing.

Again, I am using OpenOffice4 (in particular, Apache OpenOffice) 4.1.5 under Windows 10 (version 1511).

Help!

hidden_files.PNG
Shows windows view with show hidden files radial button clicked.
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Colour table problem

Postby Zizi64 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:47 pm

The User profile of the AOO is not located in the Program directory, but it is located in the Windows User directory.

https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... hp?p=58403
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.3.2; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8470
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:38 pm

Problem fixed. :D

Many thanks,
Ray
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:48 pm

I spoke too soon. While the color table is resolved, now it will not display properly on display 2. :crazy:
It was working fine till I reset the user profile.
As you will see below, I am pointing it to display 2.
select_display.PNG
selecting display 2 does not work properly


When I start the slide show, the presenter console comes up properly on display 1, but on display 2 all I get is a white screen with a couple small hour glasses.

If I set it to display on display 1 (primary), then the presenter console displays on display 2 for the audience and main presentation slide displays on my laptop. Everything is proper except that the audience sees only the presentation console.

FWIW, here is how my displays are configured...
display_settings.PNG
display configuration


Maybe there is another way to solve this problem. The only thing I needed to change was my color table. Is there a file that controls my color table in my new user profile that I can copy to the old profile? Then I can go back to my old one with the new color table?

Note that I found this article...
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... 10&t=88417
And did what it said, but with no luck.

Help!!!
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby RoryOF » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:03 pm

What is the resolution/refresh rate of Display 2?
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.3 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 29753
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby RoryOF » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:17 pm

The white screen and hourglass on Display 2 suggests that your computer certainly thinks it has a valid Display 2 screen. A trivial but often overlooked thing: check that the connecting cable to Display 2 is properly inserted at both ends.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.3 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 29753
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:29 pm

The display frequency has not changed. It is 60 Hz.

And the cable is properly connected. Indeed, I am typing this text on display 2!
Also, setting the Presentation display to Display 1 (primary) shows the presenter console just fine.
And FWIW it was working fine yesterday when I messed up my color table.

Moreover, if I duplicate my displays, they presentation shows properly.

I'm stumped!
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby RoryOF » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:31 pm

Try renaming your OO User Profile. If that cures the problem, then bring forward the colour table from the renamed profile to the new profile.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.3 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 29753
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby raypaden » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:02 am

FWIW, I just rebooted my system and that did not fix the problem.
But I discovered something else really wacky.
I added an animation to the slide set. When I got to that slide, and clicked to show the inset, 2 images displayed on display 2. And then when I went to the next slide, nothing happened and then when I went to the next slide after that, it overlaid half of its image on the original image with the animation.

Question: where do I find the file with the color table?

Note that I am using cygwin in the following "screen scrapes".

Here is my new user profile...
rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /C/Users/rpaden/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice/4/user
$ dir
total 40
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 autocorr
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 autotext
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 16:28 backup
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 basic
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 config
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 database
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 extensions
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 15:06 gallery
-rwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 29068 Jul 15 16:41 registrymodifications.xcu
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 Scripts
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 store
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 temp
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 template
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 uno_packages
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 15 13:34 wordbook

Here is my old one is this...
rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /C/Users/rpaden/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice/4/user.old
$ pwd
/C/Users/rpaden/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice/4/user.old

So I looked for all files that changed when I accidentally screwed up my color table...
rpaden@RPADEN-PC0EK93D /C/Users/rpaden/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice/4/user.old
$ ls -l -R * | grep "Jul 14"
-rwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 428 Jul 14 20:05 javasettings_Windows_x86.xml
-rwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 9995 Jul 14 20:38 standard.soc
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 14 20:15 tmp
drwx------+ 1 rpaden Domain Users 0 Jul 14 20:15 cache

Do I just replace javasettings_Windows_x86.xml and standard.soc?
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Presentation to display 2 does not work.

Postby raypaden » Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:01 am

While my original problem with the color table is solved, I cannot properly present on display 2.
So the problem is NOT solved.
See earlier posts.

Many thanks!
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby Zizi64 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:28 am

Try to make a clear reinstall of the AOO.

The "clear reinstall" means:
- uninstall the program by the original installer,
- then DELETE the rest of AOO files from the ProgramFiles(x86) directory,
- DELETE the User Profile of the AOO from the USERS directory,
- then reboot the computer.
- Finally reinstall the AOO.

That gives you - I hope - the original working state of the AOO. If It will not happened, then the problem is not in the AOO, but it is in the Windows settings.
As I know it: those are untouched by the installer/uninstaller of the AOO.

How did you set the second display originally? Can you use the second display with other softwares?


My only one tip:
Try to install the LibreOffice (near the AOO), at least a portable version of it.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.3.2; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8470
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: [Solved] Colour table problem

Postby Zizi64 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:38 am

One more tip:
There are some settings for the multi-monitor mode in the Tools - Settings - OpenOffice Impress - General menu item. See the HELP too.
(I never modified them in my Impress application, because I never used more than one display/monitor.) Please check those settings.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.3.2; AOO4.1.6
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8470
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Dissplay 2 problem still is NOT resolved.

Postby raypaden » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:18 am

Problem is not solved after deleting everything as directed and re-installing AOO. :crazy:

I still cannot display on Display 2 using the display port.
I was able to display on Display 2 at customer site using HDMI.

HELP!!!
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Dissplay 2 problem still is NOT resolved.

Postby raypaden » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:30 am

One more thing I forgot to mention.
I looked under Tools -> OpenOfficeImpress and the closest thing I found for display is under General -> Start Presentation (which had no impact on this problem).

All I can say is that it WAS working fine when I messed up that color map.
I have no idea what I did, but in trying to fix that, it quit displaying to Display 2 properly.
Also PowerPoint displays just fine. I saved my presentation in PPT format and it displays using PPT.

I really need to get this fixed.

Many, many thanks!!!
Open Office 4.1.5
Windoze 10
raypaden
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:38 am


Return to Impress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests