Excell to OpenOffice

Just a meeting place for professional offers & requests
Forum rules
Disclaimer: this section of the forum is just a meeting place for professional offers & requests. We do not and cannot insure the liability of the proposal made publicly in the forum or privately after contact has been made in the forum. Therefore, please take up the offers made here at your own risk.

Excell to OpenOffice

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:30 pm

Hi
I have an excel formula that i would like to work in open office.
Can send the excel file obviously.
happy to pay
many thanks
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: excell to open office

Postby FJCC » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:52 pm

If you need a single formula translated, then I suggest you post it, or better yet a small example file, here to see if someone can help you. Fixing many formulas in a complicated file is less likely to get a free response.
Windows 10 and Linux Mint, since 2017
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
FJCC
Moderator
 
Posts: 7128
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: excell to open office

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:57 pm

Probably be easier to post the sheet, but it is 872kb zipped which is to big i think. Happy to pay
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:00 pm

You can upload to a free file sharing service, and then link it here (google drive, or other)

Or delete the non-related parts from a COPY of your file...

Or you can copy the formula (formulas) here (use the CODE TAGs)
Last edited by Zizi64 on Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.5 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.2; AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7908
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:47 pm

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:44 pm

We have not permission to download the file from the attached link...
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.5 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.2; AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7908
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:58 pm

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:17 pm

It is a huge MS .xlsm file. I do not see _any_ cell formula on the first sheet, and there are _one_ (repeated) formula in the second sheet. It works, but the result is not wisible in the too narrow cell.

Otherwise the file contains some VBA macros. The VBA is not compatible with Starbasic and API. You need REWRITE all of your VBA macros.

Or you can try the LibreOffice: it has better combatiblity with the foreign formats.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.5 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.2; AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7908
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:30 pm

So is it possible for open office to do the same thing as the file i have ?
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:33 pm

So is it possible for open office to do the same thing


What thing do yo mean?

The formula?
Yes, the formula
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
=COLUMNS($A$1:A$1)

works fine in my Libreoffice 4.4.7.

The macro?
Yes, you can write macros in AOO or LO. But you can rewrite those VBA macros.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.5 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.2; AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7908
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby MatthewDavies » Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:47 pm

HI, Just tried libre and wont work. If you type to numbers in the first two colums, say 6 and then 8 then click create black cells. It fills those cell on the implentation tab. Accordingly if you fill cells in the implentation tab and click "extract values" on the cat 5 tab it will fill it with numbers. Theese are measurements in cm an mm
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2
MatthewDavies
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Re: Excell to OpenOffice

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Feb 06, 2016 11:15 pm

I see now: there is a hidden sheet, named 'cat5hidden'.

But i do not understand (because I do not have Excel) what is the task of this spreadheet file, and what is expected from the working of the macros.

The macro code assigned to the Button 'Redistribute':

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Rem Attribute VBA_ModuleType=VBAModule
Option VBASupport 1
Sub redistribute()
Dim ws1 As Worksheet, ws2 As Worksheet, ws3 As Worksheet
Dim i As Long, LR As Long

Set ws1 = Sheets("cat5")
Set ws2 = Sheets("Implementation")
Set ws3 = Sheets("cat5hidden")

LR = ws1.Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row

For i = LR To 3 Step -1
    If ws1.Range("A1").Offset(i).Value Mod 2 = 0 Then
    If WorksheetFunction.CountA(ws1.Range("B1:IV1").Offset(i)) > 0 Then
      ws1.Range("B1:IV1").Offset(i).Copy Destination:=ws1.Range("A1").Offset(i - 1, 1 + WorksheetFunction.CountA(ws1.Range("B1:IV1").Offset(i - 1)))
        ws1.Range("B1:IV1").Offset(i).ClearContents
    End If
    End If

Next i
End Sub


This code will modify the sheet "cat5" only: there is some Copy, and Clear feature in this code...
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.5 on Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.2.2; AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7908
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to Paid support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest