[Solved] #name? error

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] #name? error

Postby Darth Yoda » Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:59 am

Why does this give me an error?
=ifd4+C3>D3:VLOOKUP(B2;'Odd tables'.P3:Q33:2;0)

Odd tables is referenced many times but seems to fail here.
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice3.1.1
Windows XP
Darth Yoda
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:15 am

Re: #name? error

Postby joe theengineer » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:26 am

Maybe a name that is used has not been defined, or has lost its definition.
....... Select the range of the variable, then go to..... insert name define ......
Put the new name on top, check that the range is correct at the bottom
..... push add and OK.
OpenOffice 3.4.1 on Windows 7
joe theengineer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: #name? error

Postby thinman3 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:28 am

Most likely cause would be that the formula, as presented, is unworkable due to structure errors.

=ifd4+C3>D3:VLOOKUP(B2;'Odd tables'.P3:Q33:2;0) should look like the following:

=IF((D4+C3)>D3;VLOOKUP(B2;Oddtables.P3:Q33;2;0);"") OR =IF((D4+C3)>D3;VLOOKUP(B2;oddtables.P3:Q33;2;0))

thinman3
OOo 3.2.1 on Ms Windows XP w/SP3
thinman3
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: #name? error

Postby Darth Yoda » Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:45 am

Thank you Thinman3. This expression:
=IF((D4+C3)>D3;VLOOKUP(B2;Oddtables.P3:Q33;2;0);"")

got me started again. I got a #ref so I had to reselect the oddtable range though. Easy fix.

Two Stars!!!!
OpenOffice3.1.1
Windows XP
Darth Yoda
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:15 am


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests