[Solved] Search and replace manual line breaks?

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby lvehko » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:07 am

When cutting and pasting large blocks of text from other word processing programs, they often come in with manual line breaks. In MSWord, in the "search and replace" function, you can select "paragraph" as an object to search and replace (with a single space), making it simple to remove manual line breaks globally. Has anybody figured out how to do this in OOWriter? In the search function, I see that there are menus under "more options" for "format" and "attribute", but I've never been able to figure out how to use these to do the above trick.
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
lvehko
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:30 am

Re: search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby therabi » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:23 am

Using Search and Replace: In the Search box put \n in the Replace box leave empty. Under More Options make sure that Regular expressions is checked. Then click the Find all button then the Replace button. If your sure all the marked items are correct then you can use Replace all but that should be used with care in other cases. It is also suggested that you uncheck the Regular expressions box before closing.
OpenOffice.org v3.3, LibO v3.32 on Ubuntu 10.10 and Win7
User avatar
therabi
Volunteer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby lvehko » Fri Jul 01, 2011 5:01 am

Doesn't work. "Search key not found."
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
lvehko
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:30 am

Re: search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby lvehko » Fri Jul 01, 2011 5:07 am

Found an answer in the knowledge base (sorry):

http://wiki.services.openoffice.org/wik ... ocument%3F
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
lvehko
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:30 am

Re: [Solved] Search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby FrankPerkins » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:27 pm

I can't make this work. What am I doing wrong?
Frank
FrankPerkins
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:08 am

Re: [Solved] Search and replace manual line breaks?

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:30 pm

There is also the AltSearch extension that can do that. Else we need more details!
AOO 4.1.3 on Xubuntu 17.04, (Zesty Zapus) and on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 27537
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests