Data Recovery

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Chip

Data Recovery

Post by Chip »

I have a calc spreadsheet that I save as a .xls file. I have been inputting data for 3 years. Today the file would not accept data inputs, but would scroll up and down. I hit the save icon and the file saved. The software then crashed and closed. When I reopened the software it recovered my file, but nearly all of the data is missing. The file was over 7,000 lines long. It still has a few cells with % characters in it after line 7,000. But the only good data is the first several hundred lines. Otherwise all the data is missing. I tried using ExcelFix and it only brings up the saved file with all of the missing data. Is there anyway I can recover the missing data or is it lost forever. I was using this spreadsheet everyday and last saved it 8/2/19. This loss occurred 8/3/19.
In the past when OpenOffice crashed it was always able to recover the file. This time it did not. Is this because I hit save when the software was crashing?
OpenOffice 4.1.2 Windows7 Pro 64 bit
RusselB

Re: Data Recovery

Post by RusselB »

Welcome to the forums.
It is likely that the file is unrecoverable due to the timing between your save attempt and when Calc crashed.
The .xls format is not a recommended format, and most, if not all, recent versions of spreadsheet can work with the Open Document Formats. (.ods extension for spreadsheets)
You might be able to recover a previous version of your file by going to the file in Windows Explorer, right clicking on the file and selecting Restore Previous Versions... This is part of Windows 7.
If that doesn't work, then you could try using Recuva
It is strongly recommended that you do this asap, as the more your system is used, the more likely that the recoverable data will be lost.

On a side note, I'm going to suggest your read this tutorial to get an idea as to the differences in how the .xls file is stored compared to how the .ods file is stored.