[Solved] Adding up rows to keep a running total

Discuss the spreadsheet application
witchmellor

[Solved] Adding up rows to keep a running total

Post by witchmellor »

Sorry but complete newbie here, been using OO for some time but am limited to just adding up and sorting columns of numbers.
Here is what I am trying to do, I run a pub weekly football pool and after collating the results from the predictions (3 points correct score, 1 point correct winner or draw and 0 points for incorrect score or winner).

I have a list of names of the weekly participants, not all of them take part every week but the points they get for that week are entered and the number of points are then added to the running total which is also then sorted in descending order to show the points leader.

What I am trying to come up with is a way to enter the points for each name in the first two columns and have some way to update, ie add the sum to the corresponding name in the right hand columns without them then reverting back to the previous week's values when I enter the next week's data.
Here is a snapshot of the sheet I use, if the full sheet is required I can attach it. I'm sure some of you boffins will be able to do this with your eyes closed :D
Grateful for any help at all.
Thanks
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1p8Omg ... RfknXdmYg5
Last edited by witchmellor on Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OO Virgin
OpenOffice 4.1.5
Windows 10
John_Ha
Volunteer

Re: Adding up rows to keep a running total

Post by John_Ha »

The best way to do this is to have a series of columns for week 1, week 2, etc, and add across all columns. You can place the columns well to the right if you don't want to see them, or hide them. An advantage of doing this is you have a complete history of how the total is obtained. Or place the records of all weeks on a different sheet.