Page 1 of 1

How to prevent a graph from drawing empty cells?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:02 pm
by Angry Ashley
Hi,

I'm trying to make a graph that should update every time I add a new row. I've set the range to about 1000, but it draws all of those points.
In one of the columns, there is a formula, but it is set to keep the cell empty unless the other cells in that row are populated.

I've already unchecked "Include values from hidden cells", that didn't work.
When I choose "assume zero" it draws the line at 0 at all those cells, so they are recognized as missing cells I assume.

Does anyone know how I can make it so that those missing cells don't draw on the graph at all?

Thanks in advance,
Ashley

Re: How to prevent a graph from drawing empty cells?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:18 pm
by MrProgrammer
Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Angry Ashley wrote:I'm trying to make a graph …
In OpenOffice we use the term "chart". This is helpful to know when searching for documentation about this feature.

Angry Ashley wrote:In one of the columns, there is a formula, but it is set to keep the cell empty unless the other cells in that row are populated. … Does anyone know how I can make it so that those missing cells don't draw on the graph at all?
Have the formula return the null string "" when there is no data point for the chart. See attachment.
201911181110.ods
(20.36 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

If you also want the X-axis to exclude the missing data range, I doubt if you can do that unless you use the XY Scatter chart type. If you need further assistance, attach a document demonstrating the situation (remove confidential information then use Post Reply, not Quick Reply, and don't attach a picture instead of the document itself).

If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.

Re: How to prevent a graph from drawing empty cells?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:22 pm
by Angry Ashley
The formula already returns a null string.
If It's only possible in scatter charts then i guess i'll just have to work with it.

Thanks