[Solved] Find data based on specific criteria

Discuss the spreadsheet application
jjh036

[Solved] Find data based on specific criteria

Post by jjh036 »

Hello,
I am new to OpenOffice and struggling to find a replacement for a macro I would run in Excel and was wanting to know if anyone could at least help with a starting point or other options as I am trying to make a complete switch from Microsoft Office to Open Office. I have been starting to learn Python and I've read that Python can be integrated with Open Office so curious if that would be a better option.

I am trying to copy specific data between two cells and paste them on another sheet. I provided an attachment that has example data.
Attachments
Untitled 1.ods
(17.75 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Sun Dec 27, 2020 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.5
Windows 10
FJCC

Re: Calc Options for Finding Data based on specific criteria

Post by FJCC »

A good resource for learning OpenOffice macros is http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php. The Macros Explained and the English Macro Document are the two you will want to look at. The main difficulty in learning macros is API, which will present much the same problems in OO BASIC or Python. Python is a far better language than OO BASIC but BASIC is what is used in the documents linked above.

The attached document contains the beginnings of a macro. It searches for the first pair of "first" "second" markers and copies the data between them to Sheet2. I hope that helps.
Attachments
SearchMacro.ods
(19.58 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
MrProgrammer

Post by MrProgrammer »

jjh036 wrote:I am trying to copy specific data between two cells and paste them on another sheet.