[Solved] Merging Multiple Table into one without blanks

Discuss the spreadsheet application
alset6

[Solved] Merging Multiple Table into one without blanks

Post by alset6 »

I am fairly new at this, so I don't know if what I need is even possible. I have several lists that have similar data. I want to create another list that will combine data from the lists if the data in the third column is greater than a certain number. I also want the new list not to contain any empty spaces. I made one list that combined the two list, then made another list that checked if the value in col 3 is greater than 0.
List 1
Academics Alchemy/Chemistry 3
Academics Astro Sciences 0
Academics Computers 0

List 2
Academics History/Civics 0
Academics Law 1
Academics Life Sciences 0
Academics Medicine 0
Academics Military Theory 0

Combined List
Academics Astro Sciences 0
Academics Computers 0
Academics History/Civics 0
Academics Law 1
Academics Life Sciences 2
Academics Medicine 0
Academics Military Theory 0

=IF(Charts.$C1>0;Charts.A1;"") =IF(Charts.$C1>0;Charts.B1;"") =IF(Charts.$C1>0;Charts.C1;"") yields:

Academics Law 1
Academics Life Sciences 2

Is there a way to display this new chart without the lines between rows that have Alchemy and Law? Also, is there a way to do this without having to combine the other lists first? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by alset6 on Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
alset6

Re: Merging Multiple Table into one without blanks

Post by alset6 »

I used the sort and filter options, but if the original table is changed, the sort/filter doesn't stay. I was able to figure out how to do it in excel, but am not sure how to change the formula to work in openoffice. Here is the formula I used in excel, maybe it can give you an idea of what I am trying to accomplish: