How to use IF to use value from another cell

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Post Reply
parnless
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:44 pm

How to use IF to use value from another cell

Post by parnless »

How can I do the following? If C3 is more than 0, then I need what is in I3 (a value from a formula) to be shown in D3, if not then I need D3 to be left blank. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...
Open Office 4.1.5 on Windows 7 Home Premium
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
Posts: 5087
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: How to use IF to use value from another cell

Post by robleyd »

G'day, and welcome to the community forum.

The syntax for IF is IF(Test; ThenValue; OtherwiseValue). In the offline help - F1 - search if.

In the cell where you want the result to appear:

Code: Select all

=IF(C3 > 0; I3; "")
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.2.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.2 by Eric Hameleers
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6646
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: How to use IF to use value from another cell

Post by RusselB »

First off, Welcome to the Forums.
Your query is really quite simple.
In D3 enter

Code: Select all

=if(C3>0;I3;"")
Please note that the "" puts a null string into the cell, so it looks blank, but if you were to use the ISBLANK function, it would return False as the cell isn't literally blank.
Currently for OpenOffice this is the closest that you can get to having a formula return a blank entry into a cell.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
Post Reply