Ranking and sorting

Discuss the spreadsheet application
FOXYWALES

Ranking and sorting

Post by FOXYWALES »

Hi, As a newbie I'm asking for some help please. I have created in Calc a spreadsheet which has a list of names in column A2 to A100. I also have several number columns representing activities and which points can be added for each name. I have included columns for Total and Position. In the total column I have included a SUM in order for the Total column to show the relevant total of points in a range of cells for each name, i.e. for first name from E2 to S10 and for second name from E3 to S10 and so on for each name.
What I want to do is to get the 'Total' column to automatically update the Position column to show the position of each name from 1 at he top down to 100 and also if possible to update the 'Name' column with the highest position at A2 down to the lowest position at A100.
I really don't know if this is possible and as a newbie I also don't know where in the tutorials to start looking, so any help would be very gratefully received.
Thanks in advance and sorry for my lack of knowledge.

Title Edited. A descriptive title for posts helps others who are searching for solutions and increases the chances of a reply (Hagar, Moderator).
Open Office 1.4.1 on Windows 10
FJCC

Re: NEWBIE HELP PLEASE

Post by FJCC »

Sorry, I am not sure what you want to do.

First, I assume your total column is the sum of each row, so from E2 to S2. You wrote E2 to S10 but I don't see how that would work.

Is your position column the rank of the total score, so that the highest score gets a rank of 100 or 1? If that is what you want, take a look at the RANK() function. If you want the highest score to get the highest rank, the formula would be like

Code: Select all

=RANK(A2;$A$2:$A$100;1)
If you then want to reorder the rows to get the highest rank at the top, select all of the cells and then use the menu Data -> Sort.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint