[Solved] Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:12 am

(sheet1) Contact List

A b c D E, etc
Client Name Street City State Zip AreaCode Phone First Name Last Name Contact E-mail Contact – cell Notes
Phoenix Default (AZ) Default (602)

(sheet2): State, City, Zip
A B C
City State Zip Code
Phoenix AZ
Gilbert CA

This is how I think I would be. Is there a better way?
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Villeroy » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:14 am

Using a database is the best way.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24405
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:25 am

Well I know a little bit more in sheets, than base.
So thought I would start there.
Plus having java runtime environment issue.(win7 64bit)
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Villeroy » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:54 am

There is no Java issue if you either install the right office suite (LibreOffice 64 bit) or the right Java version (32-bit for OpenOffice) or any other operating system. You can even use Base without any Java. Just connect it to a database without Java dependencies.
I do not exaggerate. You can spend years with vlookup, cell validation, millions of copied formulas, array formulas and macro programming without getting close to a simple, beginner's database.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24405
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby RusselB » Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:44 am

While still a newbie in the area of databases, I must concur with Villeroy regarding the suitability of which program is best for the example you gave.
As an experienced user of spreadsheets (over 30 years worth), your usage of VLOOKUP appears to be the best option within Calcs capabilities.

The Java issue, also as noted by Villeroy, is the fact that you are using the incorrect version of Java. Open Office is a 32 bit program and requires the 32 bit version of Java.
There is no problem with having both the 32 and 64 bit versions of Java installed simultaneously,
OpenOffice 4.1.3 and LibreOffice 5.1.3.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
RusselB
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:18 am

(sheet1) Contact List

A b c D E, etc
Client Name Street City State Zip AreaCode Phone First Name Last Name Contact E-mail Contact – cell Notes
Phoenix Default (AZ) Default (602)

(sheet2): State, City, Zip
A B C
City State Zip Code
Phoenix AZ
Gilbert CA

This is how I think I would be. Is there a better way?

...but the real question is: what you want to achieve with this data structure and the function VLOOKUP()?

Please upload an ODF type sample file here with some (dummy) data and some "desired results".
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.3.6 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, WinPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO5.4.2 and AOO4.1.3
Please, edit the topic's initial post, and add the word "[Solved]" at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5913
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:33 pm

Well I've downloaded the 32 bit jre, but I'll have to figure why base can't find it. ( d:\java\bin\javaws.exe)

I've put up a rough outline of what I have in mind.

Thank you
Attachments
Anytown.ods
(81.23 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:04 am

Libre base works now (will start with it).
installed jre 32 and 64, OpenOffice base, still no luck with.
will try to see how to go about setting up tables based on calc sheet above.
Pointers are welcome. Thanks.
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby RusselB » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:01 am

You might have to force Open Office to see the java installation, as you have it on drive D, rather than C, which is the normal default drive for installations.
I have to admit that I'm wondering if you really do have the correct Java installation, as the file name you specified doesn't look correct to me.
OpenOffice 4.1.3 and LibreOffice 5.1.3.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
RusselB
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Villeroy » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:19 am

On a 64-bit Windows system 64-bit Java goes to C:\Program FIles\ whereas 32-bit Java goes to C:\Program Files (x86)\.
In the OpenOffice dialog the path of the selected Java version is displayed below the list.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24405
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:10 pm

Installed both 32,64bit versions.
What is the actual full file name? and its placement,
on the openoffice, tools\java\options\tab
add
parameters
class path
thank you
Attachments
jre_loc.jpg
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Zizi64 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:08 pm

I think your Java Runtime Environment is not installed correctly.
The name/s/ of the installed version/s/ must appeare after a few second automatic search in the Tools - options ... menu.

JavaVersions.png
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.3.6 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, WinPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO5.4.2 and AOO4.1.3
Please, edit the topic's initial post, and add the word "[Solved]" at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5913
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:26 pm

Well! I'm at a loss, I tried uninstalling , then reinstalling into java default location, still to no avail.

jre-8u144-windows-i586.exe
jre-8u144-windows-x64.exe

C:\Program Files\Java
C:\Program Files (x86)\Java
Attachments
jre_loc2.jpg
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Villeroy » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:35 pm

Simply install some default Java from java.com and LibreOffice. If you really want to stick to good old OpenOffice just use it without Java. https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... 74&t=69896 describes how to find a 32-bit Java.

There is no need to uninstall anything. You can run as many Java installations as needed to run all your Java software; and you can run OpenOffice and LibreOffice as two separate but very similar applications.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24405
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby jack&Jill » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:53 pm

Villeroy,

Thank You, your last post was the fix; it was Visual C++ Runtime.
open base, now allows me to start a open and stare a new db.

Now to try and figure how to get what I first presented here to work.
at this point i'll settle for a client list, invoice, and product limited functioning.

Again thanks for that link, I could not figure out why it would not work.
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way?

Postby Villeroy » Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:27 pm

Creating (developing) a database is a lot more difficult than typing arbitrary data into a preexisting grid. But the result is usable for years and years with no maintainance other than regular backups.
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/v ... 17#p225017
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24405
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Using : vloopup is this the best way? Solved

Postby jack&Jill » Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:26 pm

Solved, Thank you to all
OpenOffice 4.01 on Windows 7
jack&Jill
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:42 pm


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests