[Solved] Move Row

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Move Row

Postby KitchM » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:24 pm

How does one select, drag and insert a row in Calc?

Thanks.
Last edited by KitchM on Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KitchM
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:27 am

Re: Move Row

Postby Villeroy » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:43 pm

Click row header or Shift+Space
Alt+Drag+Drop
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 27095
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Move Row

Postby KitchM » Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:28 am

I have tried selecting the row by clicking on the row header, which changes the row to all selected. If I then point to the row header and, while holding down the Alt key, try to drag, the full size window becomes "normalized" or smaller and is dragged around the screen with the mouse movement.

I am using version 4.1.2 on Xubuntu 14.04, if it makes any difference.

Or did you mean something different by Alt+Drag+Drop?

Thanks.
KitchM
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:27 am

Re: Move Row

Postby RusselB » Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:03 am

Due to the difficulties in getting cells to move in Calc using drag & drop, I don't even bother trying anymore as I find it easier to do this:
1) Insert an empty row/column where I want the data
2) Highlight the row/column I want moved
3) Press Ctrl+X (for Cut)
4) Place the cursor at the beginning of the empty row/column
5) Press Ctrl+v (for Paste)
6) Go back to where the data originally was (now blank) and delete the row/column
OpenOffice 4.1.6 and LibreOffice 6.0.6.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 5394
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Move Row

Postby Villeroy » Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:50 am

No, you must not grab the row header. Grab the highlighted range, drag it and drop it with the Alt key pressed.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 27095
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Move Row

Postby KitchM » Thu Jul 07, 2016 4:40 pm

RusselB, that is what I've always had to do, but thanks for the tip.

Villeroy, it still normalizes the window and drags it around the screen, regardless of where I grab it.
KitchM
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:27 am

Re: Move Row

Postby keme » Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:14 am

KitchM wrote:RusselB, that is what I've always had to do, but thanks for the tip.

Villeroy, it still normalizes the window and drags it around the screen, regardless of where I grab it.

First grab it without any modifier key pressed. Drag it to where you want to have it inserted. Press and hold Alt as you drop the row.
Before clicking, Alt will activate window select mode. During click and hold, Alt will activate "drop-insert" mode.

I didn't know about the Alt-drop. Thanks Villeroy, I learned something today.

@KitchM: Note that it may not work on your system. I only tested it in LibreOffice, and your OO version of 3.0.2 (according to your sig) is fairly old. The feature is probably only recently added (otherwise I think I would have known it before...), and possibly only in LO.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: Move Row

Postby KitchM » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:29 pm

Okay, that worked (after a fashion, but it gives weird and non-standard visual feedback). By the way, I've eliminated the old garbage from my sig. See current in post above.

Thanks.
KitchM
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:27 am

Re: [NOT Solved] Move Row

Postby needahammer » Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:01 am

Not solved, for me anyway, on OSX El Capitan 10.11.5 or .6 using OO Calc 4.1.2.

I can find NO WAY to MOVE a row or column via drag and drop in OSX they way you can in Windows XP with the same version of OO calc operating on the same file. You can overwrite or COPY, but not move.

This is quite annoying. Pretty basic functionality.

There's a bugzilla report for this from 2013. # 123699 at https://bz.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=123699.
Perhaps folks, annoyed like me, can vote for this being fixed.

Thanks!
Win Xp, & OSX 10.7 & 10.11 with OO V4.1.2
needahammer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:52 am

Re: [Solved] Move Row

Postby MrProgrammer » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:52 pm

needahammer wrote:I can find NO WAY to MOVE a row or column via drag and drop in OSX …
You could use Tools → Macros → Record, create two macros, and bind them to shortcut keys, say ⇑⌘X and ⇑⌘^. If you want to use the mouse you could bind them to toolbar buttons.

Extract rows to clipboard:
Select row(s) (⇑Space)
Cut (⌘X)
Delete rows (⌘-)

Insert rows from clipboard:
Select row(s) (⇑Space)
Paste (⌘V)
Undo (⌘Z)
Insert rows (⌘=)
Paste (⌘V)

[Tutorial] Binding a macro: Shortcut key, menu or toolbar
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.5 Build 9789 on MacOS 10.11.6.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Postby needahammer » Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:05 am

MRprogrammer, thanks for your time and effort, but that's just not a reasonable solution for me or other OO calc users I know.

I wish I knew how to motivate developers to first address bugs that affect basic usability, that I encounter frequently, before other program issues that I seldom or never see. Or for which a workaround such as the macro you suggest would suffice.

IMHO, the OO effort diminishes its viability as an alternative to the MS hegemony, when it allows basic stuff to be a problem. The special case issues and problems just make it hard to recommend.
My 2 cents.
Thanks again.
Win Xp, & OSX 10.7 & 10.11 with OO V4.1.2
needahammer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:52 am


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests