Can't open text files through explorer

Discuss the spreadsheet application
austin987

Can't open text files through explorer

Post by austin987 »

Howdy,

I've been using OOO for a couple years, but this problem recently arose when beta testing 3.0. On my main workstation, I've got OOO 2.4.1, MS Office 2003, and (recently installed) OOO 3.0 beta (started getting XLSX files).

All spreadsheet type files are set to open in OOO 2.4.1. .txt files are set to open in Notepad++. I *used* to be able to right click a text file and choose open with, and scalc would be listed. Everything's honky dory.

Install 3.0, try to get it to auto open all spreadsheet stuff. Chaos ensues. I've tried multiple combinations or repairs/uninstall/reinstalls, using WRITE_REGISTRY=1, etc. No luck.

Now, right click a text file, choose open with, and I have to choose program. Select scalc, click okay. Then I receive ~4 shell errors, saying:
"C:\Documents does not exist."
"C:\Documents and settings\Austin\Desktop\ does not exist."
"C:\Documents and settings\Austin\Desktop\Settings\Austin\Desktop\test does not exist."
"C:\Documents and settings\Austin\Desktop\file.txt does not exist."

Opening the file through OOO's file, open dialog works fine (though it opens in writer instead).

My job entails a ton of tab delimited text files, which make OOO a joy (the text to columns on import is _much_ better than excel, since you don't easily lose leading 0's. But this quirk is driving me bonkers.

Thanks in advance!
squenson
Volunteer

Re: Can't open text files through explorer

Post by squenson »

Please check the file association and the open command for txt files:
1. Open File Explorer (right click on the Start button, then Explore)
2. Go to the menu Tools > Folder Options > Tab "File Types"
3. Find in the list the extension TXT, select it and click on the button "Advanced"