[Solved] Help with Tab Delimated

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Tel Streaky

[Solved] Help with Tab Delimated

Post by Tel Streaky »

Hi there,

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to these things but I've run into a strange problem. For my shop I download a csv file to deal with my orders, and I've been doing this for over a month with no problems. Then yesterday I downloaded and edited my file as usual and then the posting site I use didn't recognise the different columns of my work sheet (all the data had been put into the first column and was no longer separated by tabs). I hadn't changed any settings that I was aware of and the tab delimited was still checked (indeed when I look at the sheet it still looks fine). I tried sending my file to the posting site and they sent it back to me and as soon as I opened it the same thing happened again. I checked old shipping files and they uploaded fine but as soon as I copied one line from the recent file into an old sheet the same thing happened.

I'm not sure if I've explained things too well there but can anyone help me? I'm just confused and need to do my orders for today and still have the same problem.

Many thanks!
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
Apache Open Office 4.0.1
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Help with Tab Delimated

Post by Villeroy »

If you are running Windows, http://csved.sjfrancke.nl/ is the program you should use to edit text files. It is a tiny little program made for these types of files.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
acknak

Post by acknak »

Hi and welcome to the community forum!

Sorry, I'm not sure I understand what you're doing.

How are you editing the csv file? Do you use Calc for that?