[Solved] Convert formula to value

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Convert formula to value

Postby rogerknightOO » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:30 pm

In Excel, Edit/Paste special allows a formula on clipboard to be converted to its value.

As a new OO user, I cannot find out how to do this, despite spending much time with the help system.
Last edited by rogerknightOO on Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice.org 3.2.1 on MAC OS 10.6.4
rogerknightOO
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:12 pm

Re: In Calc, convert formula to value.

Postby acknak » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:42 pm

For a single cell, press F2, then F9 to see the result of the formula. Press Enter at that point to replace the formula with the calculated result.

For multiple cells, or if you want the result in some other location, copy the formula cells to the clipboard, then Edit > Paste Special. Un-check "Paste All" and then "Formulas" (and any other properties you don't want to carry over), then OK.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Solved] Convert formula to value

Postby mriosv » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:47 am

If you press and hold the paste button, there is several options, one Unformatted text. That do the trick.
LibreOffice 3.5.4 AOo-3.4 on Win 7 Ultimate
mriosv
Volunteer
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:12 am
Location: Galiza (España)

Re: [Solved] Convert formula to value

Postby tlotman » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:39 am

Is there a way to get the data automatically placed in another column without manually doing a "paste special".
Would you have to write Visual Basic command to write the results of the formula from column C over to D?

See the attached.
Attachments
OpenOffice-Formula-Question-2.jpg
Example
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.3
tlotman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:35 am

Re: [Solved] Convert formula to value

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:05 am

Would you have to write Visual Basic command to write the results of the formula from column C over to D?

Yes you can write a macro for this tast, but not in Visual basic.
Use the built-in StarBasic IDE and the API functions/procedures.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9447
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests