[Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby Fahim » Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:07 am

Hi
When i am using Excel i have an option that you can cut a cell and paste it through insert cut cells so that the existing cell will not be overwritten instead it will pushed down but i dont find such command in Calc can anybody can sort out this one Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Tagged thread as Issue (link to a bug report).
Fahim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: Insert Cut Cells

Postby acknak » Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:45 am

Copy or Cut your cells, then:
Edit > Paste Special
    Selection = "Paste All"
    Shift Cells = Shift up / Shift down
AOO 4 • Linux • Fedora 17
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 17395
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: Insert Cut Cells

Postby jmmen » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:52 pm

Hi, I have done what acknak mention, but just has no shift and right shift option, down shift is dimmed. Do I miss something?
jmmen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:43 pm

Re: Insert Cut Cells

Postby Villeroy » Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:23 pm

No, you don't miss anything. The developers miss something since many years and nobody noticed *and* reported the issue. I filed it in January 2008: http://www.openoffice.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=85187
Currently there is a drag&drop-feature under development. Until then you may use 4 of the CellMover macros for moving cells into 4 directions.

New link is Issue 21280 - Automatic Insert (shift down or shift right) of cells, columns, or rows when cut, or copied, and pasted. (Hagar, Moderator).
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 12.04, Apache OpenOffice 4.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17264
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Insert Cut Cells

Postby Hagar Delest » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:53 pm

acknak wrote:Copy or Cut your cells

It works only if you copy a selection, not if you cut it.

NB: tagged the thread as Issue.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 13.10 (Saucy Salamander)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25087
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby AndrewZ » Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:27 pm

<signature>
* Did you solve your problem? Do others a favor: Post the solution
* Visit OpenOffice.org Ninja (blog) and OpenOffice.org Ninja Wiki for news, previews, troubleshooting, etc.
</signature>
OOo 3.0.X on Fedora 9 + XP
User avatar
AndrewZ
Volunteer
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:57 pm

But it doesn't work if you cut the selection.

The ALT key does the trick but it's not so obvious. BTW: you just need to hold the ALT key when you drop the selection.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 13.10 (Saucy Salamander)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25087
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby acknak » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:32 pm

But it doesn't work if you cut the selection.

It does for me--in certain situations. Sometimes the "shift cells" option is there for a cut selection, sometimes it's not.

Moving cells around should be obvious, easy and dependable: it should "just work". I don't think we're quite there yet ;-)
AOO 4 • Linux • Fedora 17
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 17395
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby Hagar Delest » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:44 pm

The shift option is there but not for the right direction: if I cut a column and want to paste special, I'm proposed the shift... Down option and the Right option is disabled (when it should be the only one allowed since I can't paste a column under another one).
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 13.10 (Saucy Salamander)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25087
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby acknak » Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:26 am

Ahh, yes.. Now I see what you mean.
AOO 4 • Linux • Fedora 17
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 17395
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby jmmen » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:00 pm

Downloaded 2.4, is seems like the same, no "down" shift.
jmmen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:43 pm

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby Villeroy » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:05 pm

Drag&Drop with Alt-key.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 12.04, Apache OpenOffice 4.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17264
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby AndrewZ » Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:55 pm

The order in which you press keys is important, and to me, was anti-intuitive. You may want to watch the video demo of moving cells with drag and drop.
<signature>
* Did you solve your problem? Do others a favor: Post the solution
* Visit OpenOffice.org Ninja (blog) and OpenOffice.org Ninja Wiki for news, previews, troubleshooting, etc.
</signature>
OOo 3.0.X on Fedora 9 + XP
User avatar
AndrewZ
Volunteer
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: [Issue] Insert Cut Cells

Postby Weatherlawyer » Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:04 am

A work around I use to gert the paste special option function when pasting from sheet to sheet or from writer to Calc is to copy to Notepad then on from there. It breaks the tied format, in some way clearing the decks as it were.

I hope someone comes up with the answer for the next release. 2.4 doesn't cut it -to coin a phrase.
Weatherlawyer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:18 am


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests