[Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby jle101 » Wed May 20, 2009 10:45 pm

I am new to forums. I am running Ubuntu 9.04 and Open Office 3.1.0. I am trying to select the first three rows of a single sheet spreadsheet to repeat on all pages when printed. I have selected Format-Print Ranges-Edit, clicked on the icon to the right of the input field and used the mouse to select rows 1 through 3. When I click OK I get the following error message: invalid sheet reference. I have used this feature in prior versions of Open Office and it worked fine. I would appreciate help on this issue. I have done a search on this site and a google search, with no success.
Last edited by jle101 on Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OOo 3.1.X on Ubuntu 8.x
jle101
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby Nikos » Thu May 21, 2009 11:57 am

Does this problem occur with all your documents?
Else, maybe you could upload an example. I cannot replicate this problem on 3.1 running on W2K (OpenSuse is still on 3.0.1).
LibreOffice 4.0.5 on OpenSuse 12.3/64bit/KDE4.10 (Version from the TDF page) + LibreOffice 4.1.1 on Debian Wheezy/64bit/KDE4.8 + LibreOffice 4.1.1 on Win7/64bit
Nikos
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:50 am

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby jle101 » Thu May 21, 2009 8:23 pm

Thanks for responding. I should note that Open Office 3.1.0 is a new install. I did not have this problem in a previous version but have it with all of the documents that I work with in 3.1.0. I will attempt to upload a screen shot.
InvalidSheet.png
OOo 3.1.X on Ubuntu 8.x
jle101
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby Hagar Delest » Thu May 21, 2009 10:16 pm

Works fine for me with 3.1 on my xubuntu Hardy box. You should try the official (Sun) version: [Ubuntu] Installing OOo on Debian and Co.

Thanks to add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 19.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28543
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby jle101 » Sat May 23, 2009 8:27 pm

Re: comments from Hagar de L'Est, Thanks for your input. I read the tutorial (viewtopic.php?f=16&t=68) along with all of the posts. It appears there are more problems with installation from the vendor than I currently have.

After more research it appears the invalid sheet reference has been identified as bug # 374708 at Launchpad <https://bugs.launchpad.net/openoffice-pkgs/+bug/374708>. It is also identified as bug # 527535 at Debian.org <http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=527535>. There is probably nothing more to do until the community comes up with a patch to correct this problem.
OOo 3.1.X on Ubuntu 8.x
jle101
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby Hagar Delest » Sat May 23, 2009 8:55 pm

Have you installed the Sun version? You won't have this bug then.

Thanks to add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
AOO 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 19.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 7 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28543
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby saskatchewan » Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:41 pm

Which is the "Sun" version?

Do you mean uninstall the version from the repositories and then do a download from the website?
saskatchewan
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:11 pm

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby thomasjk » Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:02 pm

Hagar means to download from here http://download.openoffice.org/other.html#en-US rather than any other site.
Tom K.
Windows 10 Home version 1803 17134.165
LibreOffice 5.4.7.2
thomasjk
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4408
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby arnel » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:36 pm

Klaus Stengel reported a workaround without having to download the sun version:
https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=502641#c12

The problem is that the syntax check in areasdlg.cxx fails if there is no
formula grammar specified in the user configuration. In that case
lcl_CheckRepeatOne() just returns "false" instead of trying with the default
grammar. As a workaround try the following:

1. Select Tools/Options... from the menu
2. In the left tree navigate to OpenOffice.org Calc/Formula
3. Click on the Arrow right to "Calc A1" to see the list of possible grammars
and select "Calc A1" explicitely from the dropdown list (even if it was already
selected)
4. Press "OK" to save

If that doesn't work at once you may try to select some other grammar, save,
and then revert back to "Calc A1" and save again. Please report if it worked
for you or not.
OpenOffice.org 3.1.0
Ubuntu 8.10
arnel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby jle101 » Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:41 pm

Thank you Klaus Stengel. I have not installed the Sun version as the installation process requires a lot of input through the terminal, and as a novice, I am not comfortable with that. I tried your workaround on two sample spreadsheets with success both times. Thanks again. :)
OOo 3.1.X on Ubuntu 8.x
jle101
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby algotruneman » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:01 pm

The fix from Klaus Stengel worked for me, too, but it also turned off the freeze (Window menu - freeze) I had put on the top three lines of the sheet so they would remain visible during data entry once the sheet got large. Putting the freeze back removed the print range selection of those same three lines that the fix dealt with.

Using the (Window - split) to accomplish the same scroll benefit did not turn off the print range.
The "incompatibility" of freezing the top three rows with selecting them to be printed may be where the source of the problem is, and though the work-around is successful, it isn't, apparently, a fix.

Left a comment on the Ubuntu Launchpad bug 374708.

Update: Further fiddling seems to indicate that since I used the split option for the window, the freeze option no longer disables the printing selection of the three lines.
OpenOffice 3.1.0 Kubuntu 8.04.2
algotruneman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:35 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby stiffneck » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:15 am

Thank you this worked for me!
"Leadership means breaking the status quo." -Just look for the one who said this in Google - OpenOffice 3.1 on Ubuntu 9.10
stiffneck
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:10 am

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby lp3825 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:56 pm

Thanks that worked for me.
Louis Passano III - Maryland
OpenOffice 3.1.1 on Ubuntu 9.10
lp3825
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:23 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby ubundom » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:25 pm

@arnel: Thanks, that worked for me too using OOo 3.1.1 OOO310m (Build:9420) on Linux 2.6.31-19-generic on a Dell Latitude D810.
Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic on a Dell Latitude D810 laptop
Migrated from Openoffice.org 2.4.1 to 3.1.0
User avatar
ubundom
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:47 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repeat

Postby Baxter Basics » Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm

I just had the exact same problem.

All I had to do was:
select the Format - Print Ranges Edit
Rows to Repeat - user-defined
I entered 1:4 instead of what I really wanted which was A1: R4
OO changed it to $1:$4, and all is well!
Open Office 3.0.0 on Windows XP Home / Open Office 3.0.0 on Ubuntu 8.4
Baxter Basics
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:53 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby charismaticjoshi » Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:07 am

Yes the information was very helpful... Thanks a lot!!!
OpenOffice.org 3.1.1
OOO310m19(Build 9420)

Ubuntu 9.10 (kernel 2.6.31-19-generic) Gnome 2.28.1
charismaticjoshi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:02 am

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby amanda » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:59 pm

Works for me, too. Thank you! I was tearing my hair out until it dawned on me to try searching for
repeat rows "invalid sheet reference"
. Thank you!
amanda
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:07 am

Re: Invalid Sheet Reference when selecting rows to repeat

Postby Be4Truth » Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:50 am

arnel wrote:Klaus Stengel reported a workaround without having to download the sun version:
https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=502641#c12

The problem is that the syntax check in areasdlg.cxx fails if there is no
formula grammar specified in the user configuration. In that case
lcl_CheckRepeatOne() just returns "false" instead of trying with the default
grammar. As a workaround try the following:

1. Select Tools/Options... from the menu
2. In the left tree navigate to OpenOffice.org Calc/Formula
3. Click on the Arrow right to "Calc A1" to see the list of possible grammars
and select "Calc A1" explicitely from the dropdown list (even if it was already
selected)
4. Press "OK" to save

If that doesn't work at once you may try to select some other grammar, save,
and then revert back to "Calc A1" and save again. Please report if it worked
for you or not.


This worked for me on Lucid 32 bit with OOo 3.2.0
Be4Truth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:03 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby mosaic2s » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:46 pm

Ditto.
Ubuntu 10.04 with open office 3.2.0.
Thanks for the simple tip.
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP + ubuntu 8.04
mosaic2s
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:50 am

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby gnulab » Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:18 pm

This trip provided solved my case too.

I'm using Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick)
OpenOffice.org 3.2.1
OOO320m19 (Build:9505)
ooo-build 3.2.1.4, Ubuntu package 1:3.2.1-7ubuntu1
OOo 2.4.X on Ms Windows XP
gnulab
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby Gavin » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:16 am

Good deal. Re-starting the CalcA1 grammer worked for me and I didn't lose "window freeze" either.

Thanks.
openoffice 3.2.0 on Ubuntu 10.04LTS
Gavin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby gian » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:14 pm

well this was very useful indeed.
OpenOffice 3.2 - Ubuntu 10.4
gian
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:45 am

Re: [Solved] Invalid Sheet Ref. when selecting rows to repea

Postby biochemistrygmcs » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:08 am

Options->Openofcie.org calc->Formula->Formula Options0>formula syntax-> deselect Calc A1-> again select Calc A1 and save. It worked for us
Ubuntu , open office 3.1
biochemistrygmcs
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:56 pm


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rebeccamaria and 16 guests