How to ignore text in cell, and cal only numbers

Discuss the spreadsheet application
skyliner

How to ignore text in cell, and cal only numbers

Post by skyliner »

Hi, im a noob, i'm googleing my every step for a simple sheet that will help me keep track of my ''money''.
Is there a way for sum / + calculation to ignore letters in the same cell and only add numbers?
Im lazy like that and i want to input something like ''1200 for rent'' and ''150 food'', and the thing to sum up only numbers,
ignoring text and not giving #Value! error. I know you will say its simpler to just seperate the two, but because of the current on-the-go layout i want the text and numbers to be in the same cell, can it be done? Is there a formula of some sort?

It's very rudamentary, im still figuring out what i need it to do. It will look better once i'm all done and start tidying it up a bit ;) A drive for uber & bolt and its really hard for me to keep track of my earnings, so i decided to just count the cash
i have currently in my wallet every week to see where i'm at xD Coz i dont know if im loosing or gaining money xD
OPENOFFICE 4.1.7 Windows10
robleyd

Re: How to ignore text in cell, and cal only numbers

Post by robleyd »

The proper way to store your information is in two cells - one the value and the other, the description.

I don't recommend this, but if your current data is always guaranteed to start with one or more digits, followed by a space and some text, the following formula would work, assuming your data to be in A1:

Code: Select all

=VALUE(LEFT(A1;SEARCH(" ";A1)-1))
Unexpected spaces before or among the digits, or no digits, no spaces and quite a few other things may cause an error, or unexpected results.

As you are new to spreadsheets, [Tutorial] Ten concepts that very Calc user should know may be of use to you.
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.1.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.1 by Eric Hameleers
skyliner

Post by skyliner »