[Solved] Sum cells in a column based on info in another

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Burnart

[Solved] Sum cells in a column based on info in another

Post by Burnart »

Hello OO Users as you can tell I'm not very good at spreadsheets because I can't even figure out how to title this succinctly. Essentially my problem is this I have 2 columns of information one is a list of
'criteria' and the other is a number associated with each criteria entry. Something like this:
Criteria Number
Beta 12
Gamma 0
Delta 3
Alpha 2
Alpha 7
Gamma 33
Beta 0
Gamma 2
Gamma 0
Delta 0
Alpha 3
Beta 1
Delta 10
Gamma 0

I want a routine that will Total all the Alpha, Beta, Gamma and Delta numbers and give me a result that looks like this;
Alpha 12
Beta 13
Gamma 35
Delta 13

I'm sure this is standard spreadsheet stuff but I can't figure it out. I haven't even had any luck trying to figure out what words to use to search for a previous answer to this question - my searches turned up blanks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved.
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows Vista
robleyd

Re: sum cells in one column based on info in another column

Post by robleyd »

You could use a pivot table - see the Help - F1 - for Pivot Table. Also there is Using the DataPilot - now called Pivot Table - in the AOO wiki.

See the attached example using your data above.
Attachments
simple_pivot.ods
(9.25 KiB) Downloaded 105 times
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.1.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.1 by Eric Hameleers
robleyd

Re: sum cells in one column based on info in another column

Post by robleyd »

BTW if you are new to spreadsheets you may find [Tutorial] Ten concepts that very Calc user should know helpful.
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.1.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.1 by Eric Hameleers
Matareuz