Totaling/summing data from a variable range/dataset

Discuss the spreadsheet application
WMWForest

Totaling/summing data from a variable range/dataset

Post by WMWForest »

Beginner here - I have been developing a volume totaling spreadsheet for tax purposes (I work in the forest products industry; timber is taxed by volume/value, depending on the product)

I have the table that aggregates volumes built, and I have a basic layout for entering data from individual "trip tickets" (slips detailing the specific product/volume - one per truckload of timber), so that individual tickets can be associated with time/date/purchaser etc. info....

I'm looking for a way to:

#1 - Duplicate a "trip ticket" entry table infinitely (some jobs have 10 loads of wood on them, some have 150) - perhaps w/a button or keyboard command(?)

#2 - Total the data from individual tickets into the appropriate categories in the aggregate table, even though the data range is variable.

Apologies for my forum illiteracy, this is a side project I've been picking away at, and I've hit a dead end. File is attached for reference - Sheet 1 is the "trip ticket" entry table that I wish to duplicate; Sheet 2 is the aggregate table.
Attachments
RoC Volumes Template - 2.0.ods
(21.24 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
OpenOffice 4.1.3
Windows 10
Matareuz

Re: Totaling/summing data from a variable range/dataset

Post by Matareuz »

Hey WMWForest,

It's been a long time since you asked for help and I know that probably you had find a way to do what are you asking for. :oops:

Anyway, I modified the file to make it do what you were asking to do (If I don't misunderstood).