[Solved] Compare a single cell to a group of cells?

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Acidello

[Solved] Compare a single cell to a group of cells?

Post by Acidello »

Hi everyone! And thanks in advance for the help =)
I am struggling in a rather simple task, I am sure there is a formula for this but I can't find it. I am a very beginner user in Openoffice.

I need to compare the value of a single cell to each value of a range of cells, return "1" if I find a match, "0" if I don't (or if the source cell is empty).
I know a way in which I could do it, but the formula would get very large and it would also be time consuming, I am sure there is a more compact way.
I would usually do it like that:

value to compare: cell A1
range of cells: B1:Z1
formula: =IF(A1=0;0;IF(A1=B1;1;IF(A1=C1;1;IF(A1=D1;1;IF(A1=E1;1... ...IF(A1=Z1;1;0))))))))))))

I searched a lot on the forum, also on the Italian one (I am italian) and on google in general, but I found formulas like LOOKUP or MATCH which as far as I understand don't do exactly what I need (although perhaps with a complex setup I could use them as well).
Does anyone have a better solution to this? Thank you to anyone who reads this =)
Last edited by Acidello on Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Openoffice 4.1.13
Windows 10
MrProgrammer

Re: Compare a single cell to a group of cells?

Post by MrProgrammer »

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
Acidello wrote:I need to compare the value of a … cell to each value of a range …, return "1" if I find a match, "0" if I don't (or if the source cell is empty).
Value to compare: cell A1; Range of cells: B1:Z1
Formula: =IF(A1=0;0;IF(A1=B1;1;IF(A1=C1;1;IF(A1=D1;1;IF(A1=E1;1… …IF(A1=Z1;1;0))))…))))
=IF(ISBLANK(A1);0;SIGN(SUMPRODUCT(A1=B1:Z1)))
Based on your proposed formula, I will guess you want to return numeric values 0 and 1, not text values "0" and "1".

[Tutorial] The SUMPRODUCT function
Calc Functions listed by category