[Solved] Change Legend

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Solved] Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:39 pm

I would like to change the text of the legends. The edit command only has DELETE legend, not the change as per the help command. So, maybe I have an old version but I get this message when I try to update:
Error reading data from the Internet.
Server error message.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Eddie
Last edited by robleyd on Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged [Solved]
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby RusselB » Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:48 am

Please clarify what you mean by legends.
As to the server error, that is a long standing problem and has nothing to do with OpenOffice or the volunteer end users that supply pro-bono assistance.
OpenOffice 4.1.7 and LibreOffice 6.3.3.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:09 am

Thank you. Can you help with changing the legend text?
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby Lupp » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:37 am

RusselB wrote:Please clarify what you mean by legends.

(No answer / clarification)

ehj69a5 wrote:Thank you. Can you help with changing the legend text?

What's going on here?
On Windows 10: LibreOffice 7.0 and older versions, PortableOpenOffice 4.1.7 and older, StarOffice 5.2
---
Lupp from München
User avatar
Lupp
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2918
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: München, Germany

Re: Change Legend

Postby Bill » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:41 am

Please upload a screen shot of a "legend" to help us understand what you're trying to change. We don't even know if this is in OpenOffice or something else. As far as I know, "legends" is not a term used in OpenOffice.

Edit: I looked up "legends" in Help. It seems that "legend" could refer to captions, charts, draw objects or drawings. Are you trying to edit one of those?
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Change Legend

Postby Zizi64 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:42 am

The legend is the labels in a Calc Chart, referenced to the first row of the data range by default.
See the strings "x", "y" on my attached image.
Did you meant this "Legend":
Legend.png


You can change the Legend labels of the chart by changing the cell content of the A1, B1 (in this case).
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9548
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:54 pm

After some time playing around, the attached is where I am. The legend on the right should be the dates of the three graphs and the last 2 show up at zero.
Thank you for your help.
Eddie
Attachments
TG.jpg
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby Lupp » Mon Feb 03, 2020 3:15 pm

Would you mind to tell next time that you are talking of charts if you are?
On Windows 10: LibreOffice 7.0 and older versions, PortableOpenOffice 4.1.7 and older, StarOffice 5.2
---
Lupp from München
User avatar
Lupp
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2918
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: München, Germany

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:36 pm

Sorry, I would like to change the legends of the attached chart.
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby Villeroy » Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:24 pm

Change the sheet cells in the top row.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28559
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Change Legend

Postby Zizi64 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:55 pm

ehj69a5,

please upload an .ods type sample file here.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9548
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:07 pm

Sorry but I don't understand what sheet cells in the top row mean, the dates? nor where is "here" for the file samples?
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby RoryOF » Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:12 pm

'Here' means 'to the Forum', using the upload tab below the Submit button on 'Post Reply' or 'Full Editor' screens (it is not on 'Quick reply' screen).
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04.1 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31447
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Change Legend

Postby Zizi64 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:04 pm

Sorry but I don't understand what sheet cells in the top row mean,


The FIRST ROW (top row) of the data range of the Chart contains the STRINGS of the Legend.
It is enough to change the string in the cells of the first row of the data range. Not needed to modify the Chart itself. The data cells are referenced in the Chart, they will refresh automatically.

There are cases, when the Chart-DataRange references will be broken. In this cases the legend will not refresh, and you must recreate the Chart.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9548
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:17 pm

Got it. My file.ods
Attachments
Hearing Graph Mod.ods
(17.82 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: Change Legend

Postby ehj69a5 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:55 pm

Guys, got it working. Thank you all for your insight and help.
openoffice v.4 on win 10
ehj69a5
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:29 pm


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests