[Solved] Potential limitation on cell formulas?

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Engineer817

[Solved] Potential limitation on cell formulas?

Post by Engineer817 »

Hello, I'm a bit of a novice at calc still and I could use some help

I'm designing a spreadsheet for use with personal finances, the purpose being to allocate percentages of a check to certain categories in an effort to budget a bit more effectively.

This is the formula I am using for each cell

=IF(OR(WEEKNUM(TODAY(); 1) >= A3 ; (YEAR(TODAY()) <> A1)) = 1; (E2 +(B3 *V3)-F3 ); "")&T(STYLE(IF(OR(WEEKNUM(TODAY(); 1) >= A3 ; (YEAR(TODAY()) <> A1)) = 1;"Green";"Black"))) `Working
=IF(OR(WEEKNUM(TODAY(); 1) >= A4 ; (YEAR(TODAY()) <> A1)) = 1; (E3 +(B4 *V3)-F4 ); "")&T(STYLE(IF(OR(WEEKNUM(TODAY(); 1) >= A4 ; (YEAR(TODAY()) <> A1)) = 1;"Green";"Black"))) `#VALUE!

I know the formula works, I've been working on it all day weeding out issues and it checks out as doing what I want it to do on the first cell, but on the second it comes out with a #VALUE! error in any sequential cells. I think I've narrowed it down to the fact that each cell's calculation is dependent on the cell above it. Removing the preceeding cell (Changing E3 in the second formula to a constant number) makes the formula work as intended, but my application requires that dependancy.

I don't really know how to proceed from here to be honest.
Last edited by Engineer817 on Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
Open Office V 4.1.5
Windows 7 Professional 64
FJCC

Re: Potential limitation on cell formulas?

Post by FJCC »

Please upload a small example file showing the problem. To post a file, click Post Reply and look for the Upload Attachment tab just below the box where you type a response.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
RusselB

Post by RusselB »