[Issue] Legend names

Discuss the spreadsheet application

[Issue] Legend names

Postby jas2803 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:40 am

I am getting very frustrated trying to use the charts in Calc 2.3
I created a line chart and I want to create a custom legend name but for some reason I find no way to edit the legends
it just says column L and Column M
Could some one be so kind as to instruct me how to rename the legend?
JAS
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged the thread as issue (link to a bug report).
OOo 2.3.X on Ubuntu 7.x + Windows
jas2803
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Legend names

Postby jrkrideau » Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 pm

jas2803 wrote:I am getting very frustrated trying to use the charts in Calc 2.3
I created a line chart and I want to create a custom legend name but for some reason I find no way to edit the legends
it just says column L and Column M
Could some one be so kind as to instruct me how to rename the legend?
JAS


You need to add a row at the top of the columns and supply a name for the legend in that row. Make sure the option "use first row as labels" is checked.
AOO 4.1.1, Windows 7 (spit), Ubuntu 14.04
jrkrideau
 
Posts: 2196
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada

Re: Legend names

Postby jas2803 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:34 pm

well that is just stupid, I use the first row in calculations, will never do. I would of thought this could have just been edited, Excel allows you to name it whatever you want.
OOo 2.3.X on Ubuntu 7.x + Windows
jas2803
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Legend names

Postby Dave » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:52 pm

Damn. I just bit my tongue.

David.
Dave
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Legend names

Postby Hagar Delest » Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:06 pm

jas2803 wrote:Excel allows you to name it whatever you want.

Can you post a screenshot showing that (see here: How to attach a document here)?
AOO 4.1.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.10 (Utopic Unicorn)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 26260
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Legend names

Postby mkepple » Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:45 pm

This thread is a couple months old now, but I just starting using version 3 of Calc and was trying to accomplish the same thing as the OP. Like the OP using a range of cells for names is not an option, nor should it be necessary. The OP is also correct that you can name a series to whatever you want to in MS Excel. Screen shots are attached.

Mk
Attachments
Excel Range 3.jpg
Excel Range 2.jpg
Excel Range 2.jpg (19.21 KiB) Viewed 17803 times
Excel Range 1.jpg
mkepple
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: Legend names

Postby scottg » Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:29 am

It may not be clear in this discussion that the chart's data range can contain discontiguous selection. i.e.
modify_chart_data_range.tiff
modify_chart_data_range.tiff (68.68 KiB) Viewed 17762 times

In this example $YTD references the sheet where the values come from; $A$8:A$20 is the range of values getting graphed; and $C3:$E$3 is the column names I want applied as legends.

This gets me this:
Picture 2.png
bar_graph

From this:
Picture 3.png
data_source
Picture 3.png (24.91 KiB) Viewed 17755 times


The help for my version of OO(NeoOffice version of OO for MacOSX) does not mention this is possible but it works. It is tricky to use as OO does not insert the semi-colon for you but tries to over-write your old selection.
scottg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:10 am

Re: Legend names

Postby acknak » Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:30 pm

Feature request: Issue 11890: Ability to edit legend text / modify series names
You can register there and add your vote (up to two) or comment.
AOO/LO 4 • Linux • Fedora 21
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 19837
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3


Return to Calc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: calabar, GR8TFUL4CM and 33 guests