Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

Home made tutorials, by users, for users
Forum rules
No question in this forum please
For any question related to a topic, create a new thread in the relevant section.

Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

Postby Villeroy » Thu May 22, 2014 10:54 am

Windows
On a 64-bit Windows system you've got to install a 32-bit Java because OpenOffice for Windows is a 32-bit application. There is nothing wrong with installing as many Java runtimes as needed to run all your applications.
At the time of writing, this is the link from where you can download a Java Runtime Environment that differs from the automatically suggested download (e.g. Windows 64-bit): https://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
The JDK (development kit) for Java developers can be used as well but it is a much bigger download.
Java.com_Windows.png
http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
The one and only Windows JRE that interfaces with a 32-bit program such as OpenOffice is marked with a red border.


LibreOffice 5 for Windows is availlable as 32-bit and 64-bit application, so you don't need additional 32-bit Java for a 64-bit LibreOffice 5.

Combinations of Windows, Java and Open/LibreOffice:
64-bit Java on 64-bit machine: C:\Program Files\... works with 64-bit LibreOffice
32-bit Java on 64-bit machine: C:\Program Files (x86)\... works with OpenOffice and 32-bit LibreOffice
32-bit Java on 32-bit machine: C:\Program Files\... works with any installable office
64-bit software on 32-bit machine: impossible to install

The "Visual C++ Runtime" by Microsoft needs to be updated to the most recent version. This is also recommended for countless other applications regardless of the programming language.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=5555 (32 bit aka "x86")
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=14632 (64 bit)

MacOS only at the time of writing (2015-03-18)
Recent versions of AOO and LO for the Mac are 64-bit versions anyway. If you encounter problems with the latest Java 8, make sure that you have the original MacOS version of Java 6 installed. Reference: https://bz.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=126130#c20

Linux
Install the JRE package of your distribution and any office suite which matches the bitness of your system.

All platforms:
There is a glitch in the Java section of the OpenOffice options dialog. When you select the right Java version from a list box with leading radio buttons, you've got to take care that you actually click the radio button within the list box. Just clicking the list box entry does not select anything.
JavaOptions.png
After clicking the first entry, the last entry with the checked radio button remains the actually chosen one.

 Edit: 2015-07-19: The major glitch with that list box is that it lists incompatible JREs among the compatible ones, particularly it lists 64-bit JREs that are incompatible with OpenOffice on Windows. Below the box you see the path of the currenly selected JRE. The path of a 32-bit JRE on a 64-bit Windows system usually starts with "C:\Program Files (x86)\" whereas the 64-bit JREs are stored under "C:\Program Files\". This is not a problem with 32-bit Windows systems where you can install 32-bit software only. The program path of a 32-bit Windows always starts with "C:\Program Files\" 
Last edited by Villeroy on Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:43 pm, edited 14 times in total.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24590
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby esperantisto » Thu May 29, 2014 11:46 am

Villeroy wrote:If you really need Java with OpenOffice (most people don't)…


I have to point that Java is required by certain AOO extensions, notably, by LanguageTool grammar checker. So, some users simply may not realize that they need JRE :-)

Thanks for the tutorial!
AOO 4.2.0 / LibO 5.0.2.1 / Win 7 / openSUSE Linux 11.3 (32-bit) / 13.2 (64-bit)
esperantisto
Volunteer
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby Villeroy » Thu May 29, 2014 12:34 pm

esperantisto wrote:
Villeroy wrote:If you really need Java with OpenOffice (most people don't)…


I have to point that Java is required by certain AOO extensions, notably, by LanguageTool grammar checker. So, some users simply may not realize that they need JRE :-)

Thanks for the tutorial!

Thank you for this important addition. So we have certain extensions programmed in Java.

Then we have some wizards under menu:File>Wizards... When I turn off the use of Java the folloing wizards don't work anymore:
menu:File>Wizard>Letter...
menu:File>Wizard>Fax...
menu:File>Wizard>Agenda...
menu:File>Wizard>Web Page...
The other wizards seem to work.
In LibreOffice 5 the above wizards do not depend on Java anymore

The XML filters specified in menu:Tools>"XML Filter Settings ..." rely on Java. The export filters convert ODF into other XML flavours, import filters convert foreign XML flavours (such as Microsoft's infamous document XML of 2003) to ODF.

Finding keywords in the F1 help depends on Java. Also when hitting F1 with the cursor on a Basic keyword in the Basic IDE.
In LibreOffice 5 search by keywords does not depend on Java anymore

The following refers to bug https://issues.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=86541
Under menu:Tools>Macros... there is a "Run" dialog which requires Java. This one can be bypassed via Tools>Macros>Basic... button [Run]
There is a very annoying bug when you try to assign script events in Tools>Customize... tab "Events", button "Modify". You get a bunch of "missing Java errors" (one per macro library?) and when you cancel all the error messages you can successfully assign your macros anyway. Of course, the functionality of any non-Java language must not depend on any Java being installed on the system but something "in the background" tries to call some Java code when you are going to assign non-Java code to events. The same non-error is misleadingly raised when you try to assign macros to document objects such as form controls, spreadsheet tabs etc. You can do all this. But first you've got to cancel all the error messages.

Finally we have the Base component which is mostly functional without Java when the Base document is connected to a non-Java database and when the database developer abstains from the mostly useless Base wizards. The user of an input form will not notice any difference.
Having a non-Java database backend, the query designer and the plain the SQL editors are fully functional. Forms can be built perfectly well (much better forms than the lousy wizard can do). The old fashioned reports (Writer tables embedded in the Base documents) can be run by the end user but not built because the wizard to build the reports is written in Java. The new style reports from the "Report Builder Extension" need Java anyway. The Base part which makes it possible to create serial letters, labels, bibliographies and the like from spreadsheets, text files and non-Java databases is fully functional without Java.
A self-contained Base front-end connected to a non-Java database back-end is fully functional for the end user who has no Java installed if the developer abstained from the "Report Builder" extension.

This is virtually all I know about Java and OpenOffice. I used OpenOffice 1 and 2 with Basic and Python as macro languages with Java disabled or not installed on the computer. I added Java support when Base with its HyperSQL engine became interesting for me (version 2.4 of 2006).
Last edited by Villeroy on Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:50 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24590
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby karolus » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:33 pm

Hallo

When I turn off the use of Java the folloing wizards don't work anymore:
menu:File>Wizard>Letter...
menu:File>Wizard>Fax...
menu:File>Wizard>Agenda...
menu:File>Wizard>Web Page...


In LO4.x these Wizards also work without Java, see <LO_installation_folder>/program/wizards/

Karolus
AOO4, Libreoffice - 5.1 … 5.3.2.2 on Linux Mint17
User avatar
karolus
Volunteer
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:47 am

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby Ponny » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:36 pm

Meow

I think you a missed two little things here. Please correct me, if I'm wrong. And yes, this is not question. Just another information.

In OpenOffice 4.1.0, in Help, if you use tab "find" (type in keyword), you get error message:
"For this task OpenOffice needs runtime environment (JRE). Selected JRE is not usefull. Please select different version of JRE."

Or something similar this.

You can't serch Help by keywords if you not have installed JRE.

Oh yes, in my case, there is zero versions listed in Options / OpenOffice / Java setting.

And one more thing. If I for example in OpenOffice Basic in code window slecect one command and press F1, I get the same message.


Ponny
Last edited by Ponny on Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MS Windows 10: OpenOffice 4.1.3
User avatar
Ponny
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Mystical Kingdom of Krakovo

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby RoryOF » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:40 pm

Under Windows OpenOffice requires a 32 bit Java installed and selected for use by OpenOffice. Read Villeroy's first posting in this thread again for the detail.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 on Xubuntu 16.04.03 (mostly 64 bit version) and infrequently on Win2K/XP
14 October 2016 was Pooh's 90th birthday
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 25386
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby Villeroy » Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:29 pm

RoryOF wrote:Under Windows OpenOffice requires a 32 bit Java installed and selected for use by OpenOffice. Read Villeroy's first posting in this thread again for the detail.

But the 2 little things mentioned were missing in my second posting about things that depend on Java.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24590
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Troubleshooting OpenOffice and Java

Postby floris v » Sat Mar 14, 2015 11:15 am

In LibreOffice 4.4 the java options are now in Tools - Options - LibreOffice - Advanced.
MS Windows 10 - AOO 4.1.3 - LibreOffice 5.2.3.3
If your problem has been solved or your question has been answered, please edit the first post in this thread and add [Solved] to the title bar.
Nederlandstalig forum
User avatar
floris v
Moderator
 
Posts: 3943
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

Postby Bill » Fri Dec 11, 2015 11:49 pm

Villeroy wrote:
 Edit: 2015-07-19: The major glitch with that list box is that it lists incompatible JREs among the compatible ones, particularly it lists 64-bit JREs that are incompatible with OpenOffice on Windows. Below the box you see the path of the currenly selected JRE. The path of a 32-bit JRE on a 64-bit Windows system usually starts with "C:\Program Files (x86)\" whereas the 64-bit JREs are stored under "C:\Program Files\". This is not a problem with 32-bit Windows systems where you can install 32-bit software only. The program path of a 32-bit Windows always starts with "C:\Program Files\" 

I can't duplicate this on 64-bit Windows 10 and don't recall it happening on 64-bit Windows 8 and Windows 8.1. If only a 64-bit Java Runtime is installed, no Java Runtime is listed. If a 32-bit Java Runtime and a 64-bit Java Runtime are installed, only the 32-bit Java Runtime appears in the list. Using the Add button and pointing to the location of the 64-bit Java Runtime produces an error claiming that the selected folder does not contain a Java runtime environment and the 64-bit Java Runtime isn't added to the list..
AOO 4.1.4 on 64-bit Windows 10 and Manjaro Linux
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6342
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

Postby Villeroy » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:12 am

Bill wrote:I can't duplicate this on 64-bit Windows 10 and don't recall it happening on 64-bit Windows 8 and Windows 8.1.
Attachments
Windows_JRE64_LO4.png
Java options for LibreOffice 4.4.x on Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) with 32-bit Java selected and installed 64-bit Java below.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24590
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Troubleshooting Open/LibreOffice and Java

Postby Bill » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:42 am

I installed LO and also see the 32-bit and 64-bit Java Runtimes listed, so it appears to be a glitch in LibreOffice only. Apache OpenOffice lists only 32-bit Java Runtimes and doesn't add 64-bit Java Runtimes to the list.

Java_LO.JPG
LibreOffice dialog

Java_AOO.JPG
Apache OpenOffice dialog
AOO 4.1.4 on 64-bit Windows 10 and Manjaro Linux
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6342
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest