Changes

Discuss the word processor
rossm

Changes

Post by rossm »

Hi there,

I am studying using a distance learning provider. I have to frequently submit assignments. The tutor marks the assignments using red text on my original document then uploads the document to the online portal for me to then download it and view her amendments and comments. This was working fine on MS Word. However since moving to OpenOffice, when I open the document all the text is showing in black- i.e. the parts she has added in red are not showing correctly. A such, it is hard for me to know which bits were my tutors amendments and which bits were my original work.

Do I need to enable or disable a setting in order to allow changes to be made by others to my documents? If so how do I do this?

If it helps. I have been saving the document as an .odt file and my tutor has been uploading the amended documents as .odt also so all the same document type being used.

This may be a make or break so if it can't be resolved, I may have to return to MS word.

Appreciate any help.

Thanks

Ross
OpenOffice 4.1.6. on Windows 10
RusselB

Re: Changes

Post by RusselB »

Welcome to the Forums.
I don't know if this will help or not, but you could try changing the setting under Edit -> Changes --> Record

Someone else that uses Writer a lot more may have other suggestions.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
rossm

Post by rossm »

Thank you for your quick response. Unfortunately I have tried this and it does not seem to have made any difference :(
keme
Volunteer

Post by keme »

Perhaps you need Edit - Changes - Show.