[Solved] Writer Document saved as Doc in folder it is PDF

Discuss the word processor
DougCBAUT

[Solved] Writer Document saved as Doc in folder it is PDF

Post by DougCBAUT »

I have been using Open Office for many years and loved it. This is the first major issue I've had. I save my documents in writer as DOC files and then convert that saved document as a PDF to be able to exchange with others. I noticed I had version 4.12 and made a change to 4.15. All was working well until I noticed both my saved documents were now PDF files yet were showing they were DOC files in the window below the file directory screen. What is doubly puzzling is that all previous documents in previous versions saved as DOC files appear as PDF.

I need to have both a DOC and PDF file of each document. Is there anyone out there that might have an idea
Last edited by robleyd on Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged [Solved] [robleyd, Moderator]
OpenOffice 3.2 on Windows XP
RoryOF

Re: Writer Document to be saved as Doc and in folder it is P

Post by RoryOF »

What are the three letter file extensions?
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
RusselB

Post by RusselB »

Double check that you are indeed getting the .pdf extension, and not just seeing the icon for the PDF viewer.
It's possible that your .doc files have had the associated program changed to that of the PDF viewer.
It's been too long since I used XP for me to give you direction on how to set your file browser (expolorer by default) to show the file extensions.

As to sharing files, the current versions of most, if not all, office suites now support the international ODF formats (.odt for Writer documents)
Additionally, you can export to PDF directly from Writer.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)