[Solved] ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby nodehipper » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:26 pm

Hello,

Sorry if I missed seeing an answer in my searches, but I can't seem to find this.

Every time I open a Text File....and I mean every text file... creation method doesn't matter-- even a new text file created in OO -- I get a pop up dialog asking for ASCII filter options. I would like to set this as default to unicode (utf-8) ... I am currently working on a project that requires at least a hundred text files that I am updating. Sometimes having 2 or 3 files open and it is getting to be a frustrating hassle as sometimes it pops under or just to check a couple words in another file I have to select this...

I have done maybe an hour of search and can't find how to set this as default to unicode (utf-8) AND courier new as I require a monospace font

Thanks for any help in advance

Stephen
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Aug 05, 2018 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged solved.
Open Office 4.1.5 on windows 7
nodehipper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby Hagar Delest » Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:58 am

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Seems there is a problem with your installation.
Ty first to reset your OpenOffice user profile.
Does it work when you create a Calc file?
AOO 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 10 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28919
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby pleyertude » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:19 pm

Hagar Delest wrote:Hi and welcome to the forum!

Seems there is a problem with your installation.
Ty first to reset your OpenOffice user profile.
Does it work when you create a Calc file?


it worked for me :)
Windows Vista
OpenOffice 3.1
pleyertude
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby nodehipper » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:12 am

Hagar Delest wrote:Hi and welcome to the forum!

Seems there is a problem with your installation.
Ty first to reset your OpenOffice user profile.
Does it work when you create a Calc file?



Thanks for your reply,

I renamed the user file as you suggested and opened OO. Reset seems to be done since upon opening, I get the new installation questions ..Name..etc. Still the same issue, every TXT file I open brings up the ASCII filter pop up regardless of how it was created. I edited and saved in OO then re-opened and still the pop up. You suggest opening in Calc and maybe this is the issue, but I only installed Writer... nothing else since that is the only function I need... could this be the problem?

Again thanks for your reply and suggestion.

Stephen
Open Office 4.1.5 on windows 7
nodehipper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:46 am

Are those TXT files real (unformatted, pure) text files?

 Edit: The filter will always pop up at opening of these type of the document files, because they NOT contain any information for the automatic opening procedure. A TXT type "somefile.txt" file has not contain even the coding property... The AOO/LO software must ask you "how to decode the file".

I just tried it. There is not any pop-up at opening an ASCII .txt file in my AOO 4.1.5 or LO 5.4.7

puretext.txt
(1.58 KiB) Downloaded 77 times


And I tried this UTF-8 coded text file from the site:
https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mgk25/ucs/examples/

UTF-8-test.txt
(22.25 KiB) Downloaded 88 times


The result: My LibreOffice 4.4.7 version can open it without any pop-ups, but the Apache OpenOffice ask me to choose a filter...
Writer filter.png
Writer filter.png (10.25 KiB) Viewed 1307 times
 

Maybe you can write your own opening macro that will able to set the filter properties automatically, and the running method to "invisible"...
Last edited by Zizi64 on Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:43 am, edited 3 times in total.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9447
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby Hagar Delest » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:23 am

Strange, I don't get that dialog when I open .txt files (on my Windows machine).

I don't think that the absence of Calc could be the issue but who knows? For such integrated suite of applications, better install the whole package.
AOO 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 10 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28919
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:32 am

Can you upload one or more problematic text file here?
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9447
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby nodehipper » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:03 pm

example.txt
(14 Bytes) Downloaded 80 times


Tibor,

Thanks for your suggestions. I installed Calc and still same pop up dialog. I tried both of the sample txt files you posted and both also gave me the pop up dialog when opening. here is a sample off my machine to see if you also get a pop up dialog.

Thank you again for your interest in my issue!

Stephen
Open Office 4.1.5 on windows 7
nodehipper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby Zizi64 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:13 pm

here is a sample off my machine to see if you also get a pop up dialog.

Your sample file opens for me without appearing any pop-up filter in my AOO 4.1.5 and LO 5.4.7
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO6.1.6, 6.2.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-6.4.5;AOO4.1.7
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 9447
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby nodehipper » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:28 am

Thanks for all your help... I uninstalled OO and installed Libre Office and no pop up dialog when I open my txt documents.
Sometimes the best path is the path of least resistance ...It works for water...it worked for my word processing :-)

Appreciate the help!

Stephen
Open Office 4.1.5 on windows 7
nodehipper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby robleyd » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:26 am

Probably a bit late for this case, but for others later - check what the file association is set to for .txt files
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.0.7.3 - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby nodehipper » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:26 am

I had checked and set the file association for OO for text files.
Open Office 4.1.5 on windows 7
nodehipper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: [Solved] ASCII filter pop up can I set default?

Postby bijarniya » Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:51 pm

Reviving this thread again as i have similar requirement of making the ASCII Filter Options default for .txt file containing Japanese character. I want to do this as the headless API call via UNO client doesn't give options to choose the ASCII Filter Options and without those the japanese characters are getting distorted.

 Edit: Topic locked to prevent any fragmentation of discussion. You already have your own topic for the problem. You cannot revive a two-year-old solved topic when your situation is quite different, using OpenOffice through the API. 
OpenOffice 4.1.6 on RHEL7
bijarniya
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:40 am


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests