Importing document changes from Writer to Word or Pages

Discuss the word processor
martymouse

Importing document changes from Writer to Word or Pages

Post by martymouse »

hi all,

sorry if this query has come up before, it prob has but i've failed to find it coz i don't know how to search for it.

i'm a translator and editor/proofreader, and i prefer to use open office for my work. but people often send me documents from word or pages. when i correct them in writer the formatting is sometimes disrupted. as we know. so i was wondering if there is a way for me to use track changes in writer, but then have the client import those changes into the .docx file on their system, using ms word, rather than using the file i entered the changes into in writer. some work-around like this would save me having to puchase new software and also from the headache of having to do my work in multiple programs.

mayb this is obvious, but alas i also have no ms word to test it on...

thx for any help/confirmation.
OpenOffice 4 / Win 7
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: importing document changes from writer to word or pages

Post by Villeroy »

OpenOffice is free and so is LibreOffice. The latter is more actively developed and more compatible with MS Office.
You can ask clients if they want to install one of the two ODF suites.
You may install LibreOffice and see how far you get with that.
You may install some other product such as Softmaker Office.
But almost certainly you need to install MS Word anyway.