[Solved] Saving File to Rich Text Format ?

Discuss the word processor
MAREK_W

[Solved] Saving File to Rich Text Format ?

Post by MAREK_W »

Dear All,

I would very much appreciate any advice and help to a problem I have.

I have been using Open Office for many years, and use version 4.1.4. I also use the Windows 10 Operating system.

I started and saved a document in Word 97-2003 format.

I then wanted to save this same file in the format Rich Text Format (.rtf).

I thought this might be straightforward.
I went to the File menu
I clicked on Save As.
In the box labelled Save As Type, I clicked on the drop-down menu, and chose .rtf.
I then clicked on Save, and thought little more of it.

I then opened the file, and found it completely blank.

Does anybody in this community know how do do this?
Last edited by MAREK_W on Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Open Office version 4.1.4, Operating System Windows 10,
RoryOF

Re: Saving Fie to Rich Text Format ?

Post by RoryOF »

My memory is that there are (and have been) problems with OO saving to RTF. I have a vague memory that there were reports of only 64K chars being saved to RTF.
 Edit: I have just checked and was able to Save and open a 33000 word plain text file (about 165,000 chars) in RTF. 1 tried with a larger file 65K words (345k chars) and that saved OK. I then tried with a 55K words file with ToC, headers and subheaders (normal book formatting)and that crashed. So ability to Save in .rtf may depend on the complexity of the formatting (read: simplicity of the formatting). 
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
John_Ha
Volunteer

Re: Saving File to Rich Text Format ?

Post by John_Ha »

See [Tutorial] Differences between Writer and MS Word files for why you should always work in and save files as .odt and some examples of where .rtf files fall short. For example, AOO does not save comments to .rtf files even though .rtf files can hold comments.
Attachments
Clipboard02.png