[Solved] Replace font of something already typed in Writer

Discuss the word processor

[Solved] Replace font of something already typed in Writer

Postby Danzyr0117 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:31 am

Is it possible to replace the font of something that is already typed without erasing the current version and redoing it? I have typed over 1,000 words and would like a way to do this automatically.
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 5.2.6.2 on Windows 10
Danzyr0117
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:27 am

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby robleyd » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:34 am

Hi, and welcome to the community forum.

Are you using a custom style for your work? If so, just edit the style and change the font as needed - this will change all text which has that style associated.. This would be the preferred way.

The quick and dirty way would be to select all the text you want to change - Ctrl-A if it is the whole document - and assign a font to the selection.
Cheers
David
OpenOffice 4.1.3 - Windows 7
OpenOffice 4.2.0 - Slackware 14.2 - 64 bit
User avatar
robleyd
Volunteer
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby Zizi64 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:00 am

OpenOffice 5.2.6.2 on Windows 10

There is not 5.x.x version of the Apache Openoffice now. I suppose, you are using LibreOffice.


How many different paragraph styles have you used in your document? You can modify the properties of the applied styles without retyping anything.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.3.6 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, WinPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO5.4.2 and AOO4.1.3
Please, edit the topic's initial post, and add the word "[Solved]" at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5910
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby Bill » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:54 am

Assuming that you didn't change any fonts using the toolbar, then you can just change the Default font for the document. Select Tools > Options > OpenOffice Writer > Basic Fonts (Western). Select the new Default font and check "Current document only".
AOO 4.1.3 on 64-bit Windows 10 and Antergos Linux
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6296
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby John_Ha » Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:34 pm

As a new poster you will find much useful information in the Writer FAQ, the Writer Tutorials, the up to date Writer guide and the Writer Manual. When a pop-up window opens, click the Help button for extensive help on that function - it is often more comprehensive than the manual.
AOO 4.1.4, Windows 7 Home 64 bit

See the Writer Manual, the Writer FAQ, the Writer Tutorials and the up to date Writer guide for information. Click the Help button on a pop-up window for extensive help on that function.
John_Ha
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4429
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby Danzyr0117 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:51 am

I have it figured out now, thanks to all who replied. I got confused, I'm actually using LibreOffice, though the solution seems to be the same for both :lol:
OpenOffice 5.2.6.2 on Windows 10
Danzyr0117
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:27 am

Re: How do I replace font of something already typed in Writ

Postby Zizi64 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:04 am

I got confused, I'm actually using LibreOffice, though the solution seems to be the same for both :lol:
OpenOffice 5.2.6.2 on Windows 10


Yes, the AOO and LO are very similar, but not same office suites. The LibreOffice was forked from the source code of the OpenOffice. There are different features, properties and functions now, because the development of the LO has a higher speed.

Please update your signature.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.3.6 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, WinPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO5.4.2 and AOO4.1.3
Please, edit the topic's initial post, and add the word "[Solved]" at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5910
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to Writer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 39 guests