Images not displying

Discuss the word processor
beanobee

Images not displying

Post by beanobee »

Hi there
I have been using open office for a couple of months and was fairly happy with its versatility, until I started adding images to my document.
Now some of the images are not displaying, there seems to be an unusual amount of system crashes and the document is extremely slow when I scoll through it; and it has got even slower when saving.
The images are JPEG and until I started adding images, the program worked just fine.
Do I need to use another application like Presentation or Drawing?
Thanks for your help!
OpenOffice 3.4.1 on Windows 7
acknak

Re: Images not displying

Post by acknak »

OOo documents with many images can be troublesome. If you do everything just right, it will work fine, but if you just follow the obvious path, you're likely to have problems like you describe. Worse, OOo can hiccup and lose some or all of the images. You have to go back and insert them all over again.

The two main things I can think of are 1) don't embed the images in the document; use a link to the image file instead. Embedded images are great for small projects but when you need lots of images they can drastically slow down opening and saving and are at risk of being lost. Linked images avoid most of the problems, but you do have to manage all the files properly or the links can get broken.

And 2) stick to anchoring the images "as character". The default anchoring, "to paragraph", tries to flow the text around the images; it tends to tie up the computer and the document layout can become unstable as Writer tries to shift too many things around.

It can also help if you scale the images down to smaller sizes. The trade-off is that you lose some quality and you need other software to do it. Every situation is a little different and you have to be careful; there's no simple solution.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
k1ypp

Post by k1ypp »