Page 1 of 1

Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:51 pm
by MathFool
I closed all my files and restarted my PC. When I came back, one of the 4 ODT. files asked me.........

Chart1.png



Then this is what showed up when I hit ok.........(Not what I originally saved.)

Chart2.png



Strange as my other three files are fine.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:06 pm
by RoryOF
Corrupted file, possibly due to over hasty close down of computer. Nothing to be done, unless there is an arbitrarily named temporary file in OpenOffice's temporary directory.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:40 am
by MathFool
Where is the OpenOffice's temporary directory?

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:47 am
by MathFool
Also, I have it set to auto save every 15 minutes. I have never had this issue before.........So sad.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:25 am
by thomasjk
Look for filename.bak in the user profile viewtopic.php?f=74&t=12426. BTW, the autosave does not save your file. It saves the auto recovery information used in the event of a crash. Use Tools--->Options--->Load/Save-->General and check "Always create backup copy" to save a filename.bak each time you manually save the file.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:45 am
by RoryOF
The paths used by OpenOffice are given in /Tools /Options /OpenOffice.org : Paths (under Preferences on Macs). If a change is made in these settings, it may be necessary to restart OpenOffice, including Quickstarter, for them to take. Often the easiest way is to properly power down the computer and restart it.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:52 pm
by Hagar Delest
Sadly, quite nothing to do, see: 22 pages term paper replaced with pound signs.
Any power shortage for example? It's a common root cause of such problem.

Check the temporary folder of the system (see in OOo Tools>Options>OOo>Paths). If there are folders like sgmlf.tmp with a file having the same name inside, make a copy of that file, rename it in .odt and cross your fingers.

I think there are less reports about such problems, upgrading to AOO 3.4.1 may help.

Re: Everything just switched to another language?????

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:04 pm
by gerard24
Since you are running OOo on Win 7, if shadow copy is enabled you can acced to a previous version : http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2342534,00.asp
Right clic on the file, then "properties" and look if you have "previous version".

You can also try Shadow explorer.